A Rogue’s Rations…in Miniature! Or, Feeding Arnan the Barbarian…

Greetings from the local purveyor of bread and cured meats, fellow adventurers!

Those of you who saw my recent Beauty Spotlight Team Post are probably expecting my Guide to Red Lipsticks! Never fear, it shall eventuate today as promised, but I’m a rogue, and we’re tricksy. In the spirit of tricksiness (also known as having ‘chaotic’ as part of your alignment),  I have decided to toss up an extra little post, showing you some of the miniature/dungeon related stuff I’ve been working on recently.  Call it Hallowe’en inspired? No? Well, there is food involved, so it’s close. In any case, allow me to present a rogue’s first foray into miniature food!
Miniature polymer clay bread and salami

Bread for a dollhouse…bread for a dungeon! (Don’t confuse the two). Pardon the photo quality – I took these on a mobile device. I have super macro shots, but they’re not accessible at the moment (long story).

The goodies that Arnan The Barbarian is eyeing up here are made from polymer clay (specifically, Fimo) and are shockingly, excitingly easy to make. For the approximately 1:12 scale bread and salami platter (that’s dollhouse sized) I followed the bread tutorial on YouTube, property of the talented and impossibly sweet SugarCharmShop. She has tutorials for ALL THE FOOD THINGS, plus another craft channel and a nail art channel. Go. Check it out. Marvel and wonder etc. 😀 For the salami, I made it up myself as I went along, and everything is shaded and coloured with chalk pastels (beyond the original clay colour). Once I’d made the dollhouse bread (also perfect for charms or fridge magnets), I wondered if I could make 28mm scale stuff for dungeon terrain…
Miniature polymer clay bread and salami

Arnan the Barbarien, trying to decide which size bread is more appropriate for his post-skull bashing appetite. For reference, Arnan is about 30mm/1.2 inches tall.

 

Turns out you can! I just miniaturised everything further, using Arnan (who, being a barbarian, is about 30mm tall – a little over an inch) as a guide for size. Nothing is glued down yet, and I’m planning to add cheeses and pickles for a Dungeon Deli (my deli franchise someday?) setup 😉 If you guys are interested, I’ll keep you updated! (I’m also quite keen to try my hand at some miniature cosmetics, just sayin’… 😉 )

 

Orcs

Chatting at the office water cooler, Ogg and Grogg suddenly heard ‘food’ and ‘updates’.

 

What do you think, fellow adventurers? Do they have a Dungeon Deli in your questing region? What’s your favourite mid-adventure or tavern bar snack?

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images and text on this blog are the property of The Painted Rogue unless otherwise stated. If you nick off with any of it, be prepared to find that your morning hot beverage tastes a little…different than usual. Didn’t the rogue say something the other day about that new poison that makes your inner ear itch maddeningly for the rest of your life? I think she did…

11 thoughts on “A Rogue’s Rations…in Miniature! Or, Feeding Arnan the Barbarian…

    • ORLY?! 😀 I think I may be able to help them out there…

      Myabe even the 15mm ones? I think on that scale everything might look like a tiny ball though…

      ‘Right, men! Tonight we’re having balls with balls – NO, it’s not what you think. Yes, we’ve been on the march a long time, but…not that long…’

      Like

    • LOL, when I showed someone at work, they were all ‘you made homemade bread!’ and I had to show them the picture with the barbarian in it to convince them it was made of clay ^_^

      I couldn’t believe it either, to be honest.

      I just made some 28mm scale salami tonight, and tried my hand at both sizes of blue cheese 😉

      Like

  1. At first glance I thought you were going to talk about food! I was ready to indulge!! LOL! Man, you’re soooo good at making those things! They look like real things!!!

    I just watched that youtube video to hear your voice and you have lovely voice!!! Sounds so calm and mature just like I had expected. ;D

    Like

    • Hehe! I was honestly surprised with how well they turned out, you know. I kind of expected my first adventure with polymer clay to result in Gumby-like lumps, but actually it turned out well.

      Maybe I should make Gumby next…

      Hehe, thanks 😉 People tell my my voice is ‘radiogenic’ surprisingly often (I didn’t know it was a word), but I always cringe when I hear it…doesn’t everyone do that when they hear their own voice recorded?

      We rogues are always calm and mature. Except when Marc Jabos Cabaret or something happens and we’re all OMGWTFBBQDOWANTRIGHTNAO, etc.

      Like

    • Might be a bit crunchier than you’re expecting, I should warn you… 😉

      I have literally no reason (other than thesis avoidance) to make whole bunches of dollhouse sized food (I dont have a dollhouse). Nevertheless, I want to make ALL THE THINGS. Any suggestions for what you’d like to see? 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Nominations for the Wargaming Blog Excellence Award – Let us smite evil together! | daggerandbrush

Leave a comment