Stay True to the Spirit of a Rogue with Blue and Purple Lipsticks from INGLOT… + 1 Year of Bloggy Adventures!

Greetings from back at the very start of the dungeon, fellow rogues!

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a blogging rogue in possession of a large pile of loot must be in want of time to review it all.

As part of my continuing quest to make it through all the lovely things I collected in Dubai, I’m bringing you a rather late, much anticipated, but nevertheless hopefully still relevant review of two of INGLOT’s more intriguingly coloured lipsticks!

In semi-related news, today marks the 1st anniversary of my blog 🙂 To be honest, it’s kind of snuck up on me (given all the thesis madness that’s STILL GOING ON ARGH), but the little trophy from WordPress popped up in my notifications feed this morning to give me a little warm fuzzy buzz. I don’t have anything special planned, or any awesome giveaways organised (see: thesis), but I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who’s stopped by, said hello, and adventured with me these past 12 months. I’ve said before that my favourite part of blogging is the community, both fellow bloggers and readers, and I hope to enjoy this whole blogging thing for many adventures to come.  ❤

(When the Thesisbeast is finally slain…THEN WE PARTY) 😀

Inglot Freedon System two Pan Palette with Blue (#95) and Purple (#99) lipsticks

PURPLE LIPSTICKS OMGWTFBBQ ARRGHSQUEE! Uh, yes. Purple Lipstick. *cough*


Right: to get on with the actual review… I sort of wandered into the INGLOT store in the Dubai Mall without any special plans – I knew they had an impressive colour selection, and that was about it! Then I walked past the magical benchtop that held their pan lipsticks (or cream pigments, or whatever you want to call them) and ground to an immediate halt. I SAW PURPLE.

INGLOT purple and blue lipsticks #99 and #95 review and swatches

The Freedom System. Also known as choose-your-colours or ‘the dwarven approach to deciding when it is appropriate to start quaffing and eating all the pies’.

As you will be aware if you hang around here for any length of time, I have a bit of a thing when it comes to purple, especially lipsticks! Since it’s an anniversary, I feel it’s only appropriate to mention that although my first real post didn’t feature a purple lipstick, the second one did 🙂 The first one had coral. I guess I thought I’d start with something I wore daily, and then work in the direction of stuff I *wish* I could wear to work. 😉

INGLOT purple and blue lipsticks #99 and #95 review and swatches

Our brave adventurers stumble across a strange artefact in the woods…

So! Of course I immediately chose the two purples an had them popped into one of the hady dandy two-pan Freedom System palettes. I do like that Inglot offers a reasonable selection of pan-form things, and that there are a few options when it comes to how many pans you have in your palette. Obviously, there were other shades of lipstick that I wanted from the line (how about the chartreuse, the white and the yellow, for starters?), but I was on a bit of a budget, didn’t know if I would like them, and thought I would stay true to my roguish roots. The colours I chose were #95 (the more bluish one) and #99 (the warmer violet). I’ve niggled before about lazy naming ayatems, but given the number of shades and items INGLOT has on offer, I can see the practicality of a numerical system. I’ll give them a pass this time, but I am partial to actual names for shades of makeup. 😉

INGLOT purple and blue lipsticks #99 and #95 review and swatches

INGLOT lipsticks in #95 (blue) and #99 (purple). These shades are the absolute devil to photograph. Getting the shade right is like getting the paladin not to look smug in a photo. Essentially, it can’t be done.

I am rather fond of the packaging in the sense that it’s very sleek and operates by means of magnets. Magnets are awesome, and the magnetisation happening here is just as strong as you need it to be, and not so strong that when you’re trying to slide the lid off it suddenly pops and you gouge the hell out of the pan (I think we’ve all had something similar happen to us with some aggressively sealed product or other). Thumbs up to INGLOT for that one. The frosted aspect to the lid (for some reason), is totally my jam.

INGLOT purple and blue lipsticks #99 and #95 review and swatches

The lid opened relatively smoothly, and for a second they wondered if it was going to be some sort of crypt. Fortunately, lipsticks eventuated, rather than hordes of the vengeful living dead.

Normally, I’m not really a lip brush person (too lazy), but I wasn’t about to start finger painting with these, so I dusted off my Dior lipliner (which has an excellent brush on the other end) and attacked the pans! The texture of the lipsticks is smooth and very creamy, but isn’t too slippery. I didn’t experience any feathering during wear, and the colour applied evenly, but I have the sneaking suspicion that if you do personally find that lipsticks bleed or settle into your liplines, these lipsticks might lean in that direction. They feel nice and weightless on the lips, last about 3 hours (decent for me) and don’t taste of anything. The only downside is that they have a moderately onoxious fake cherry scent, that needs to die in a fire. I am biased because of some truly heinous medicine I had to take as a child, but even at the best of times, I feel like fake cherry scents don’t lend a whole lot of sophistication to a product. With the quality of the lipsticks and the sleek packaging, the scent is like… well, if you took a sundae crafted from madagascan vanilla bean ice cream and molten Valhrona chocolate and added a ‘pffft’ of spraycan ‘cream’ and a neon red maraschino cherry on top… *sniffs snobbily*:-)

All that aside though, these are nice lipsticks, for a great price, with an excellent selection. If you’ve been hesitating over trying INGLOT, or trying some more unconventionally-coloured lipstick, then this might be a great place for you to start! These are officiallt Rogue Approved lipsticks (and colours), so go forth and adventure, secure in the knowledge that I have your back when it comes to lip products. 😛

INGLOT purple and blue lipsticks #99 and #95 review and swatches

#99 (right), #95 (left) and my attempt at an ombre lip at the lower centre.

As you can see in the picture above, they both have decent pigmentation (the blue a little better than the purple), and they are both very smooth and even. I should note here that the Freedom System does have another blue lipstick in the line, but it’s more of a cyan type of blue, rather than an indigo/cobalt. I just don’t want to give the impression that this is the only blue in the line, hah! Anyway, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to try my hand at an ombre blue/purple lip, and so pressed both colours into service, along with my trusty mainstay, MUFE #49 to add depth and shadow in the corners and around the lipline. Although I prefer lipsticks in bullets generally, the whole pan and brush business does give a wonderfully artistic atmosphere. The lip look was inspired by Phyrra’s hair, and a recent, fabulous ombre blue lip look that Fancie posted in Instagram ^_^ .

What do you think, fellow adventurers? Have you tried any of the INGLOT lipsticks? Do you go for blue or purple in your makeup looks much? What do you think I should do to celebrate my Blogiversary? 😀

The practicalities: INGLOT 2-pan Freedom System palettes cost US$8 each (I need to check how many AED) and the lipstick pans cost US$7 each for 1.2 g/0.05 oz. All are permanent, and may be acquired from INGLOT stores and counters around the world, as well as from www.inglotusa.com (and other international equivalent websites).

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images and text on this blog are the property of The Painted Rogue unless otherwise stated. If you nick off with any of it, be prepared to find that your morning hot beverage tastes a little…different than usual. Didn’t the rogue say something the other day about that new poison that makes your inner ear itch maddeningly for the rest of your life? I think she did…

33 thoughts on “Stay True to the Spirit of a Rogue with Blue and Purple Lipsticks from INGLOT… + 1 Year of Bloggy Adventures!

    • Thanks Divya! ❤ I hope I can keep this going for many more years to come 😀

      ONe day… one day I will make you get a purple lipstick…even if I have to use all my DEX and CHA to make it happen!! Perhaps I will get the wizard to enchant all your neutrals so no matter what you do they always appear as purple, hah! 😉

      Like

  1. Weeeee! Congrats on your year of bloggy adventures!
    And you do purple so well. 😀
    I’ve long been intrigued by Inglot but never bought anything, yet I’m relatively certain that if I ever found myself in a store there’s no way I’d come out unscathed. And with my sometimes very short attention span who knows what I’d wind up with! hahaha!

    Like

    • Thank you! ^_^ Purple is a bit of a favourite of mine (NO KIDDING) – I’ve loved the colour since I can remember, and I’m fortunate that it tends to suit me 😀 If only chartreuse played as nicely with my complexion…

      the INGLOT store is pretty overwhelming (if you go into a dedicated store that is). There are just pans and tubes everywhere!

      Like

  2. Congrats on your blog’s first anniversary!

    Bright purples and royal blues are the very devil to try to photograph. I think you pulled it off pretty well.

    Like

    • Thank you! ^_^

      YE GODS. These were the worst to photograph. Especially that blue/purple/blurple colour. Sometimes it looks really true blue, and other times it seems to lean really indigo. I’m not even sure how it looks to my own eyes, all the time!

      Like

    • Thank you Sunny! ❤ ^_^ Your blog inspires me all the time, and I'm always pointing people I know there if I know they're into really elegant looks ❤

      I figured, if you love a purple lipstick, and you love a blue lipstick,. you really have no excuse but to wear them both at the same time, right? And throw in an additional favourite purple too, because…well…purples, I guess, hah!

      Like

    • They’re so saturated. I mean, technically the pigmentation could be denser, but even at its current intensity, the colours really are gorgeous and clear.Of course, my naturally colourless lips probably help, LOL!

      Like

  3. Happy blog anniversary! I hope you have many more! I’m not much of a lip brush person either but those colors are tempting lol. They look great on you! Now I want to play in my blue lipstick lol

    Like

    • Aww, thanks, Fancie! ^_^ ❤ HOpefully I can keep it going, LOL!

      You were the inspiration for the ombre lip, I just had to do it when I saw your post on IG!! I think my ombre is a little less smooth in the transitions, but it worked pretty well for a first proper ombre lip attempt, LOL! I think I get a little too keen on the blending!

      Like

  4. I LOVE THAT DIOR LIPLINER, TOO. FINALLY, SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS!!! Isn’t the brush on the other end so handy??? UGH.

    Ok. Ahem. Right. PURPLE. I would never be able to pull those shades off, but they are fantastic!!! I’m not into lip pans, because lazy, but they must make one feel fabulously painter-esque.

    Also, are you writing in LaTex? PLEASE SAY YOU ARE.

    Like

    • W00t! *high fivez* It’s such a great lipliner. I’m kind of afraid to use it too much because they’re criminally expensive here (what isn’t, amirite?), but I was so, so impressed with the quality of the brush. I kind of expected it to be like those brushes you get in eyeshadow palettes – Rae’s crapplicators! 😀

      I saw that INGLOT had actually released a pre-filled (12?) pan palette with an absolute rainbow of colours, and I totally want it. Of course, now that I have these two (which were in it), and dno’t really want the two pinks (why would I want pinklipstick when I can have cyan and chartreuse and lemon yellow?), I might as well just get the ones I want, but still. It’s not like we have INGLOT here anyway, hah!

      But of course I am writing my thesis in LaTeX, dear Larie. You didn’t think I was going to end up with a gorgeous bound tome of MS word, did you? Having said that, I have to write all my drafts in Word anyway, as my supeervisor has an irrational hatred of LaTeX and won’t read stuff if it comes to her in that (i.e. PDF? Not unusual? I don’t get it at all) form. T_T

      Like

    • Ooh! 😀 Congrats in advance, in case I manage to be under a thesis rovk or something when it does officially happen! 😀 If there are a bunch of us around the same time, we should all have some kind of joint post in celebration, like a blog party!

      Like

    • Many thanks, dear Hannibal. ^_^

      No snails were harmed in the making of this lipstick (that I know of). There are good odds that a few cochineal beetles have come a cropper somewhere in there though… >_<

      Like

  5. Ahhh, I was waiting for this review! I love how the two shades look in the palette–the design alone is enough to make me consider trying Inglot’s lipstick. Though I’ll never understand why brands feel the need to put overpowering floral or fruity scents in their lipstick; it makes me wonder if they’re trying to cover up an even more noxious chemical smell…

    More importantly, congratulations on a year of blogging! The internets are very lucky to have your wit, creativity, and heart. ❤

    Like

  6. Happy blog birthday, Syl! I can’t believe how GOOD you are after just a year. I cringe when I look back at my first year of blogging, seriously…

    As for this duo, it caught my attention when you first posted it in a Sunday link post! It’s amazing how wearable you make those colors look. There’s an INGLOT store in Zürich but I haven’t had a chance to visit it yet.

    Like

    • Thank you Melissa! ❤ ^_^

      Hehe, you haven't seen my full face photo attempts, LOL! I don't know how you do it!

      I think sometimes that when lipsticks are so saturated and bright in their unconventionality, they become easier to wear just because they are so unapologetic. the only thing is finding the right unapologetic colour for your skintone, LOL!

      We need to do another collaboration soon! 😀 I was so excited to see your recent one, it reminded me that we need to get another topic going!

      Like

  7. Happy Blog Birthday, my dearest Syl!!!! ❤❤ I can’t believe it’s been one year already! I’ll continue to be your loyal reader for many more years to come! ‘Cuz I luv u!!! ;D

    You totally rock blue lipsticks, girl! The ombre thing totally gives lips a good definition! What kind of eye makeup goes well with blue lips? I’ll probably start with eyeshadow, though, if I ever to customize my first Inglot palette. 😀

    Like

    • Thank you Jaa! ❤ ^_^ I luv u 2, blog BFF, makeup enabler and photography inspiration!

      With blue lips I rather like slate/bluish grey eye makeup works well on me. If I had a vibrant orange eyeliner, I would add some accents of that, but sadly I don't (HMM, URBAN DECAY? ANY SIGN OF A BANG LINER? HMM?). With purple lips you can easily work something out with brown, gold, plum or green, or any combination of the above. I tend to like using other colours in the eyeliner with brown/gold in the sahdow, just so things don't get too overwhelming, LOL!

      ((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((Jaa)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))…I guess one arm wrapped around twice? 😀

      Like

  8. Holy moly that is some colour right there! I quickly made a round of the Inglot store in Westfield London but was in too much of a rush/too broke to buy anything. LOVE the freedom system, which completely caters to my perfectionist tendencies when it comes to palettes!

    Congratulations on one year, and the almost vanquished ThesisBeast! ❤

    Like

    • Thanks ^_^

      I definitely think INGLOT stores are something you have to kind of savour. I wish I’d had more time in the one I visited, but it’s not like decisions get too hard when I can afford two things, and there is a blue lipstick and a purple lipstick… 😛

      I am totally loving all your IG posts from the Frozen North. ❤ They keep making me want to get on a plane so I can go to the National Gallery and then loiter in the Pret across the road, eating delicious soup and nursing my wallet…

      Like

  9. Congratulations on your first year of blogging! You should be so proud of how much your blog has taken off in such a short period of time and how consistently great your content has been!

    I like the shade of purple on you, but I prefer darker, vampier shades of purple on myself. Do you easily have access to OCC where you live? If so, you could mix and match any shade that your heart desires with their range of lip tars!

    Like

    • Thank you! ^_^ It’s been so much fun, and things have taken off much more than I ever expected! I’m so glad people have liked my random roguish geekery – the community has consistently been the best part about blogging!

      Ehehe – I just recently got my hands on the Black Dahlia lip tar test tube in the Sephora Give Me More Lip set…reviews and swatches shall follow anon; it was one of the things I was most looking forward to try! We don’t have OCC here in NZ, or I would already be buried neck deep in tubes of Technopagan…

      Like

  10. Pingback: Sunday Link Love, Volume #209 – JumpSeek

  11. Pingback: Beauty surrounds us in posts from The Beauty Spotlight Team

  12. Pingback: The Beauty Spotlight Weekend Reads! Prime Beauty Blog

  13. Pingback: The Last Beauty Spotlight Team Round-Up for 2014!

  14. Pingback: What are your favorite ways to glitter and shimmer? | Phyrra - Beauty for the Bold

  15. Pingback: Tales of Adventure from the Beauty Spotlight Team! Purple Lips, Starry Eyes and Hot Boys! | The Painted Rogue

Leave a comment