The Forthright Rogue: Get a Word in Edgewise with Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick in Speak Your Mind!

Greetings from an unusually forthright chamber in the dungeon, fellow rogues!

Gird your loins, fellow adventurers! The process of wading into that enormous pile of miniature loot continues today as we break into the third chamber of the dungeon. This chamber might be dressed in demure pinky nude sandstone, but suddenly everyone in the party is getting it out in the open and saying what they think! O_O You might think a rogue wouldn’t usually have trouble putting her thoughts across, but sometimes you need a little boost to get past the bard and the paladin once they start holding forth! To keep everyone in the loop on the context for this post, you can still hear the echo from the first chamber of this dungeon:

I should mention first off that a large number of the minis came in the form of the Sephora Give Me More Lip holiday special set, which contains 17 lip products in three loose ‘colour schemes’: red, nude and pink. I ordered this set from Sephora through the indomitable Jaa, who was kind enough to wrangle all the goodies into a parcel small enough that it wouldn’t cost me the contents of Erebor to ship it here. Jaa was also kind enough to take me a couple of pictures of the set before the packaging had to go…

Sephora Give Me More Lip Set 2014 Review and Swatches

The 2014 Sephora Give Me More Lip set (photo courtesy of Jaa)

Sephora Give Me More Lip Set 2014 Review and Swatches

…and here the inside! So much miniature lip goodness *drools*. The Tarte pencil at the left centre is the only full-size product. Yet more photographic awesomeness from Jaa!

 ‘I was rather excited when I saw what this set contained, because it was basically a laundry list of brands I’ve wanted to try for the longest time. Since there are so many products here, and because I’m a rogue and we’re funny like that, I’m going to review the contents in spearate posts (or in small groups) so that I can devote proper attention to obssessively photographing each miniature lip product with other miniature things❤

Alrighty then, let’s find out why everyone’s talking at once, by examining the artefact in this chamber – the Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie lipstick in Speak Your Mind!😀


Bare Minerals Speak Your Mind Lipstick Swatches and Review 2

Lying peacefully in the Crypt of the Damned, along with, presumably, one of the Damned.

Before anything ‘review’ related, I’d like to take a moment here to bask in wonderment at the fact that not only is the Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie lipstick line available here in Middle Earth (NZ), it’s actually reasonably priced! You can acquire these lipsticks from the Bare Minerals counter at Mecca Cosmetica (or on their website), for only $28 a pop, which is in the Revlon price range! This might still make US readers swallow their tongues (I haven’t checked how much these are in the US yet), but it’s a lot better than most brands manage (you can get NARS from the same shop, but their lipsticks are closer to $60 a pop). Anyway, without further ado:

I believe this is intended to be one of the ‘nudes’ in the GMML box – while I would agree that it’s not as pink as, say Bite Palomino, I wouldn’t exactly say it’s a shade that will precisely blend in with anyone’s skintone (unless you’re pale and have just come back from a brisk walk in the sun or something). I think it might be better termed as a ‘MLBB’ lipstick, although even then there’s a pale, bright edge to it that veers away from the straight and narrow of that definition too. You’ll have to pardon my nitpickiness – this shade was truly a surprise for me, shade-wise (although not a bad one, as you’ll discover below!).

Bare Minerals Speak Your Mind Lipstick Swatches and Review

Actually available in Middle Earth, and won’t destroy wallets on sight! Truly a wonder for the ages…

First up: packaging and presentation. The tube is a plain black plastic case in the traditional lipstick style, and is perfectly functional for the purpose. The lipstick bullet itself has gone a route I’d like to see a few more miniature lipsticks go, in that it is shorter and wider as opposed to long and skinny. This helps to avoid unintentional breakage, which can occur despite the best and most careful of application intentions with some mini lipsticks. The lipstick has a vague, sweet minty scent and no flavour that I can detect. The scent doesn’t linger on the lips, and there’s no ‘plumping/cooling’ effect from the mint or anything (phew!). The lipstick applies very smoothly and creamily, and wears for a good four hours, leaving a slight pinkish stain behind (probably not as visible on anyone whose natural lip colour is not ‘zombie white’ like mine, hah!). It’s a tiny bit dry towards the end of wear, but not actually ‘drying‘. The finish is creamy/satin with a soft shine, wearing off more toward a soft satin matte with time (hence the drier feel at the end).

Bare Minerals Speak Your Mind Lipstick Swatches and Review

Swatchy goodness! Yes, it’s the first time in a while that I’ve remembered to take an arm swatch…

The colour of the lipstick, as I so maddeningly referred to at the beginning of the post, is best described as an ‘MLBB pink’. It’s a soft, warm pink, with a hint of peachiness to it (especially in warm light). Having said that, however, if you apply sufficient layers to build a nice opacity on the lips (two for me, which is normal for all but the most pigmented shades), there is a noticeable pale cast to it that makes it actually quite a bright lipstick in its own way. It’s not bright the way Revlon Unapologetic is bright or anything, but… well, it’s hard to describe! Perhaps some lip swatches…🙂


Bare Minerals Speak Your Mind Lipstick Swatches and Review

Am I going insane, or is this lipstick enchanted with a pale brightness? It’s a pretty pink, whatever its overtones, however!

 

If you click on the photo above to zoom in, not only will you get front row seats to my amusing fuzzy lipbeard (does anyone else get this? No photoshoppping here, folks! LOL!), but you will see in the left-hand photo that there is a visible white base to the lipstick that actually makes it quite bright.  I should probably stress that I don’t find this to be a negative, but I wasn’t expecting it from either the bullet or the arm swatch! I tried blotting this lipstick, just to get rid of any excess creaminess (good if your lips are not perfectly smooth), and arrived at a gorgeous, soft, luminous rose pink colour. Most definitely rogue approved, and will be added to my MLBB guide shortly! For all my rambling, I really like this lipstick. It’s easy to apply, moisturising, and affordably available in my notoriously makeup brand-challenged country. I think it would make a good addition to any rogue’s kitbag, as it’s pretty but still relatively stealthy and goes exceptionally well with black clothing😉 Even the message the name is sending is a good one!

What do you think, fellow adventurers? Have you tried any of The Marvelous Moxie lipsticks? How do you feel about white bases (even subtle ones) in lipsticks? Have you checked out my Guide to Stealthy Pink Lipsticks yet?? :-D

The practicalities: Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie lipsticks are usually 0.12 oz / 3.4 g, and cost US $18 / NZ $28 each for the full size. Speak Your Mind is a permanent shade, and they can be acquired from www.sephora.com, the Bare Escentuals website and, in New Zealand/Australia from Mecca Cosmetica (stores and website). The Sephora Give Me More Lip set does not, sadly, appear to still be available on the Sephora website. It was ~$60. There is, however, the Give Me Some Lip set for $25, which contains a shiny Bite lip pencil, as well as some other goodies.

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images and text on this blog are the property of The Painted Rogue unless otherwise stated. If you nick off with any of it, be prepared to find that your morning hot beverage tastes a little…different than usual. Didn’t the rogue say something the other day about that new poison that makes your inner ear itch maddeningly for the rest of your life? I think she did…

18 thoughts on “The Forthright Rogue: Get a Word in Edgewise with Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick in Speak Your Mind!

  1. Nice box, you lucky girl. I didn’t manage to get one. That lipstick is such a perfect MLBB shade. It’s very natural-looking on you.

    BTW, you have such a pretty lip shape. Like the perfect lips on a porcelain baby doll.

    Like

    • Eheheh *smugrogue*😉 Honestly, I was kind of surpirsed not to find this on the website still – I remember early last year looking through the sale stuff, and there were tons of these holiday sets, including last years’ Bite tin! Still, at least the stuff in here is permanent *phew* so I can still try and give people some helpful info on the individual contents.

      Aww, thanks🙂 I am pretty happy with my lip shape – there’s a reason lipstick is my favourite makeup item, and something I wear every single day, LOL! It’s such a funny thing to think to be ‘happy with’, but when you start rolling down that makeup addict road, it’s surpising what you start thinking about in detail…

      Like

  2. Hey Syl, this shade is SO lovely on you! Lipsticks with a white base don’t tend to look great on me, and I suspect this particular shade is too light so I’ll pass. Glad to hear they nailed the mini tho! I do get quite scared when I use mine because they’re really thin!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you Sunny! I’m kind of torn on it in a way – it does look nice, and it feels good too, and of course I wholeheartedly approve of BM’s really reasonable pricing here…but sometimes I just don’t want a white based/bright lipstick! Basically, it’s one of things where it’s a good lipstick, but one that will depend heavily on the individual…

      Like

    • You know, Anna was one of the NARS lipaticks that I was most curious about in terms of colour! I have a bit of a thing at the moment for muted pink/mauve shades, and I seem to remember one being closer to what I thought the other would be in the promo images… Anna and Audrey maybe?

      Like

    • W00t! *lipbeard high fives*😀 Celebrate your lipbeard! Or trim/shave/wax/enchant it off, as you like😉 I never do anything about my stange face hairs (except plucking out the inevitable single black one on my chin… T_T), but when you do closeup photos you’re suddenly all ‘WHOA THAT IS AN ACTUAL BEARD’😀 Maybe we have dwarven blood in us! How do you feel about mining and forging in gold?😉

      Like

    • I have this mental image of you, cloak billowing in the wind, standing atop a precipitous crad in a raging storm, wielding an enchanted epilator against the nefarious lipbeard!!

      Yes, I have an overactive imagination…

      I was surprised by how much I liked the colour, despite its quirks, actually!

      Like

  3. tee-hee, lip beard. I use one of those little battery-powered nose-hair trimming devices from the drugstore to whack mine down without irritating my skin. Thanks for the heads up on the white base in this lipstick, it looks really pretty in the swatch and on your lips, but is likely to be a shade that makes me look sick, dead, or un-dead — lippies that are too light or without enough pink/red in them usually do that to me, unfortunately… oh, well, it saves my wallet from at least half of the lippies out there.

    If you ever need help shipping from the US to NZ I would like to help, if there is a way for you to contact me directly, please let me know.

    Like

    • *Strokes lip beard* I haven’t done anything to mine yet, since realistically it’s only visible in extreme closeup photos (like lip swatches, aha) and if I don’t pay attention to how I apply powder/powder foundation. I’m afraid that if I trim it, I will be too lazy to maintain that and end up with a weird stubbly one…😀

      It’s… kind of a tricky shade. Even for me, it’s the kind of shade where some days, I just won’t really feel like wearing it, or I won’t feel it matches my outfit. Which is kind of weird for what is, in a way, a nice MLBB lipstick…

      You’re so kind to offer to help!❤ I will end up with a whole host of angelic enablers, you guys!!😀

      Like

  4. I don’t like lippies with cooling sensation, either! But plumping I can do! You might not like those Moxie lip glosses that I sent you then, since they apply with a cooling effect. Feel free to toss! ;D

    Speak Your Mind is the color I swatched in store and really fell in love! It’s a super nice everyday pink, and although even with an obvious white base, still applies quite natural on me. It looks marvelous on your pale lips, Syl! Especially with the two layers on! Again, I envy you! Anything just looks good on your lips! NOT FAIR!!! Hehe

    Thanks again for the shout-out! You’re the SWEETEST! Muah!!!

    Like

    • ((((((((((Jaa)))))))))))😉

      I’m glad you like this one too! And that I’m not going insane with the white base, LOL!

      MUAHAHAHA! All the lipsticks shall be mine!! *crash of thinder*

      Like

  5. A gorgeous soft pink! I’ve been meaning to venture into Bare Minerals and it’s sister company, Buxom because I’ve only heard positive reviews of their lip products! I adore the way this color looks on you! I’m also surprised that it’s only $28 because it’s around the $20 mark here in the US

    Like

    • Hi Miss Louise! Welcome to the Painted Rogue ^_^
      I was really surprised and pleased by the pricing on this BM stuff – we get absolutely BENT OVER for so many cosmetic brands, it gives you all the warm fuzzies to see stuff like this. The catch, of course, is that they haven’t brought the Buxom line here yet, and we don’t get all the releases (esp the BM eyeshaodw palettes)…

      I have two Buxom items to review (Menace lipstick and Katie gloss, I think), which I’m really excited about – I’ve wanted to try Buxom for the longest time! Where do you thing you’ll start your quest into BM?🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

