Interrogueation! Liebster Award + A Fun Questionnaire for All! :-D

Greetings from the local tavern-based adventurer’s award ceremony, fellow rogues!

Recently, the lovely Dee over at HowDoesDeeDoIt nominated me for the Liebster Award. Dee is a true hardcore adventurer, combining beauty, brains, and an incredible physique. She even rocks a mean jewelled bikini! (<3_<3) I’m very honoured that she considers my little Bag of Holding A Rogue’s Nonsensical Ramblings (blog) worthy, and I’m happy to answer the snazzy questions she posed. Technically, I think that by having >200 followers, and already having received the award once, I may be disqualified, but what kind of rogue would I be if I let that stop me? ;-) 

SHAZAM!

Right, so here’s how I’m going to do this, because I’m a rogue and I have no shame.😀 Below are my answers to Dee’s questions, and then I’ve made up ten questions of my own that I’m putting out there for everyone who wants to to take them on! If you’d like to do it as an award on your blog, go right ahead! If you’re not blogging, but would like to answer some or all in the comments, please do! I just love hearing from all of you lovely makeup adventurers out there🙂

Beauty Spotlight Team Adventures

The Skeletal Necromancer and ‘friends’. With friends like these, adventures are guaranteed!

My Answers to Dee’s Questions!

What made you want to start a blog?

In blunt terms: Christine of Temptalia! Hers was the very first beauty blog I ever read, when I was hunting for reviews of Urban Decay’s 24/7 eyeliners!😀 The idea grew on me, as did the desire to have something with which to procrastinate while writing my thesis. I also decided that there weren’t nearly enough rogue voices out there in the beauty blogging community, and thus my niche was born.😉

A few favourite MLBB pink lipsticks

No actually all of the ‘MLBB’ pink lipsticks I own. Yes, I may have a problem. Zip it, you.

 

If you could change something about the beauty blogging industry right now what would it be?

Uh…it’s an ‘industry’? What?! *looks around wildly*😛 Just kidding, adventurers! So, since I earn exactly zero $$ from my blog, I don’t really feel as though I’m *inside* the industry, as it stands. Sometimes I fantasize about making my blog into a job, but that’ll have to wait till I graduate my PhD, at least, LOL! Rambling aside, from my perspective as someone who blogs beauty, but is outside the ‘industry’ portion of it… I can’t think of much? I mean, of course I could say something about honesty in reviews/PR samples, but I just don’t read blogs that I don’t feel are up to scratch in that area. The only quibble I might make is that occasionally I see a surprising lack of photo quality in swatch/reviews even though stuff has apparently been sent by a company. I assume that the blog has professional aspirations and a following (hence accepting/being sent PR samples), and the actual text of the review might be great,  but the photos are literally dark and blurry, or taken in artificial light so yellow as to render the colours moot and the swatches nearly useless. I’m not even demanding Jaa quality here, and I don’t see it very often, but it really jolts me out of things when it does! 

 

Miniature polymer clay bread and salami

Arnan the Barbarien, trying to decide which size bread is more appropriate for his post-skull bashing appetite. For reference, Arnan is about 30mm/1.2 inches tall.

Anyway

You have 5  seconds to choose between your favourite lipstick and your favourite eyeliner – which one do you pick?

There is no choice. O_0 *clutches lipstick to self*

Adventuring with friends - who won't wait for you to choose a lipstick...

…searching for the Magical Artefact of Writes My Damn Thesis For Me…😉

 

What’s your MOST favourite lipstick  of all time?

Probably Chanel Rouge Coco in #40, Charme. It was my wedding lipstick, is a perfect MLBB pink, and makes my lips feel better after it wears off than they did before I put it on🙂.

Everyday eye look_saturation

Remember this? I can even make my eyes look jewel toned and sparkly if you give me MS Powerpoint and 10 minutes!

 

You’re given 500$ to spend. You have to choose between clothes, makeup, shoes , books and a geeky gadget. What would you spend it on ?:)

Easy😀 ~$200 goes into a pair of Gaynor Mindens (pointe shoes), and the rest goes into adventuring equipment. It’s not enough to get a dwarven-forged dagger or anything, but it’ll keep me in hinge grease and lockpicks for a few more quests.

Nailstation Paris Cocorico swatch and review 2

One of the benefits (?) of natural light photography is that occasionally you don’t even need a computer to achieve arty, semioverexposed shots…

What’s your favourite vacation destination?

Anywhere adventurous, that probably involves hiking! Favourites so far have been Egypt and the mountains of Southern France, but really, I just love travel. Next on my WANT list are Nepal, and Guatemala and Peru, but for a more relaxed time I love the little hill towns in Tuscany, or the museums of Paris, Berlin and London. I should take a moment to mention here that I have a special fondness for hiking and adventuring right here in Middle Earth. After all, I can actually say with complete honesty that I have crossed the mires of Mordor and scaled the slopes of Mt Doom (Sauron was out for lunch or something). Tongariro National Park, with Ruapehu for skiing and Tongariro and Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom) for hiking, is a place near and dear to my heart, and it’s only a 4 hour drive from Rogue HQ, as opposed to 2 days of flying!^_^

Laura Mercier African Violet Eyeshadow Amethyst Caviar Stick Review and Swatches

Do you have special skill/talent that we don’t know about ?

I can’t remember if I mention these things, and actual ‘talent’ in all cases is debatable (I personally think they just haven’t the heart to throw me out yet) but: I have played the cello first desk in a semi-professional orchestra? Um… I can speak German fluently, French functionally and Japanese enough not to die if I went to Japan? I can read Egyptian hieroglyphs? I can get supercontinuum out of almost anything (fs pulses help, tbh)? I can waggle my eyebrows independently of each other while waggling my ears?  Is any of this even a genuine talent? ROFL!😀

Sleek Storm Palette Review and Swatches

Without the name slip…feast your eyes, adventurers! Another great palette for autumn!

Would you rather be in : A pretty dress and heels / jeans  and sneakers ?

This is actually a really hard question. Obviously, the dress and heels, because I have been all about the pretty dresses since I was born. In practical terms, however, all the things I enjoy doing in life, with the possible exception of cello and ballet if we disregard the ‘heels’ part (like science, hiking, videogames, etc) is better done in the jeans and sneakers realm…

Revlon Legacy Icy Violet, Revlon Gucci Westman Carnival Spirit, Revlon SuperLustrous Pink Sizzle lipsticks review and swatches

The druid, selecting lipsticks near the Spring of Suitable Presents for Sisters. Fabulously helpful place, that.


 

Are you a brand snob ?;)

Yes and no. Yes because often the ‘high end’ brands I’ve tried have genuinely given me a better result/experience, but no because it’s hard to be too ‘snobby’ in a land where your choice tends to be between (in practical terms): branded makeup that is not cheap – this includes my beloved Revlon, which will set you back $30 a lipstick here – and cheap makeup that has no brand, no ingredients list, no provenance, and there is no way I’m putting it near my body.😉

 

Nailstation Paris Coeur de Paris swatch and review Formula X Sephora Magma Review and swatch

DOUBLE CUDDLY SWEATER ATTACK! The fluffy one is more awesome, but the black one showed off the polish better… #rogueproblems

 

What was the last life-changing  tip that you received from someone? ( makeup or non-makeup related)

Perfection is the enemy of good enough, people. Especially when it comes to theses…😉

 

Lancome Lip Lover Full Set Swatches New Zealand

The Ballet Monster, complete with her weapon of choice.

 

Tell us about an app that you love !( can be a game, a photo-editing app..anything!)

While I’m not the appiest person in the world (ba-dum-TISH), I do get a lot of mileage out of the Podcast app on my iPad. I am a huge fan of the Stuff You Missed in History Class podcast, among others, so I use it a lot! Also Instagram. Does Instagram count? I may have gotten a little hooked…

 

And now – My Questions for YOU! Muahahahaha!

Remember, this is for everyone, both my stalwart readers and valiant fellow bloggers – answer as many or as few as you like, in the comments below or on your own adventure board!

  1. It’s character selection time! Your choices: a human/elf/dwarf, who is a fighter/wizard/rogue. What do you choose for yourself, and why? What would your partner/sister/mum/dog/thesis advisor/whoever be?
  2. Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?
  3. What is on your lips RIGHT NOW? (can be ‘nothing’ or ‘pizza sauce’ or whatever, but we should probably keep PG, folks. LOL!😉 )
  4. Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock? 
  5. What’s the most dangerous adventure you’ve ever undertaken?
  6. If you could go to university, for free, (again), with no career pressure right now, what would you study? If you’re still at uni, is there something you secretly wish you could be doing a degree in? Feel free to be serious or tailor it imaginatively (e.g. ‘Bachelor of Balancing Spoons on my Nose’). 
  7. Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?
  8. How many druids does it take to open a locked chest (the rogue was on leave)?
  9. If you could be awesomely talented at any one thing (that you’re not already, of course, you fabulous adventurers, you!), what would it be?
  10. Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips? Nostalgia? Optimism? Because lipsticks work just as well as ‘maxillomandibular sticks’?

 

So there we are! Thanks again to Dee for the nomination🙂 I hope you enjoyed reading my typically rambly answers, and I hope you’ll take a stab at a few of the questions I’ve offered above!


Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images and text on this blog are the property of The Painted Rogue unless otherwise stated. If you nick off with any of it, be prepared to find that your morning hot beverage tastes a little…different than usual. Didn’t the rogue say something the other day about that new poison that makes your inner ear itch maddeningly for the rest of your life? I think she did…

34 thoughts on “Interrogueation! Liebster Award + A Fun Questionnaire for All! :-D

  1. It’s character selection time! Your choices: a human/elf/dwarf, who is a fighter/wizard/rogue. What do you choose for yourself, and why? What would your partner/sister/mum/dog/thesis advisor/whoever be?

    I would be an elf wizard, because elves have the best clothes and jewelry, and being able to work magic sounds awesome. My hubby would probably be a human wizard, so he could help me with the chemistry end of the spells, but not have to wear fancy elven robes (he’s not into dressing up).

    Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?

    Nope. One great thing about being very fair with neutral undertones is I can pull off almost anything I want.

    What is on your lips RIGHT NOW? (can be ‘nothing’ or ‘pizza sauce’ or whatever, but we should probably keep PG, folks. LOL!😉 )

    Nothing. It’s Thanksgiving here in the US, and it’s just me, hubby and the kids this year. So I’m in leggings, a comfy sweatshirt and no makeup. I rare lazy day for me.

    Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock?

    Yes; I’ve picked some simple locks in my time, but only for my own things.

    What’s the most dangerous adventure you’ve ever undertaken? Having children

    If you could go to university, for free, (again), with no career pressure right now, what would you study? If you’re still at uni, is there something you secretly wish you could be doing a degree in? Feel free to be serious or tailor it imaginatively (e.g. ‘Bachelor of Balancing Spoons on my Nose’).
    Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?

    I would get my MA in English and/or my BA in marine biology. (I have BAs in English and Journalism already. I had wanted to be a science writer.)

    How many druids does it take to open a locked chest (the rogue was on leave)?

    Years. They always want to build a circle of giant stones first.

    If you could be awesomely talented at any one thing (that you’re not already, of course, you fabulous adventurers, you!), what would it be?

    Dancing. I have no sense of rhythm, movement, coordination or grace.

    Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips?
    Nostalgia? Optimism? Because lipsticks work just as well as ‘maxillomandibular sticks’?

    They’re drama queens. If they weren’t arguing over lipstick, it would be something else.

    Like

      • Hehe, I know what you mean – I love a pineapple pizza generally, but the wrong ingredients in the tomato sauce make all the difference. For example, I think pineapple and oregano need to never be a combination…

        Having said all that, I was brought up with Hawaiian pizza as a thing (if not *the* national pizza flavour), so I was indoctrinated at a young age.

        Like

    • You know, funnily enough, it’s my hair colour that does it for me! I used to hate the fact that it is kind of a dark blonde/indeterminate colour, but it turns out it goes with pretty much everything. Now if only my skintone would do the same, LOL!

      Leggings and a sweatshirt ftw. It’s how I live most of my life at Rogue HQ, to be honest! I was wondering if someone might have kids as their most dangerous adventure🙂 Would you say it’s the kids themselves (still) or the process of having them?

      A science writer! That’s so cool! I have a friend who just finished her thesis, who’s looking to go down that road. It takes real talent – I’m sure you’d be awesome!

      Ah, good point. I forgot about the standing stones… *checks watch*

      Funnily enough, that was how I felt about dancing until I randomly decided to try ballet. To be frank, although coordination has definitely gotten better, I’m still not so sure about grace, LOL! I say give it a go!

      Like

  2. Yaaay loved your answers Syl!! Thanks being a sport and answering qs again in the name of a Liebster🙂 thnx for the ultra sweet intro too! omg..wow…boy…whoa…..wth…..yowza..ok you are seriously talented!hieroglyphs. ..German. .French. ..eyebrow wiggling …cello…ballet..blogger..thesis..you deserve much more than a Liebster lol. What’s your thesis on btw?? And also where does your interest in all things elvin stem from ?:) I used to be able to speak German when I was a widdle girl but have forgotten it all😦 i picked some of your qs and am answering em here …2.blue eyeshadow 5.skydiving (did it a couple of times lol) 6. Astrophysics
    Take care syl. Cya round! Here..instagram…twitter..wherever :))

    Like

    • Thank you so much again for giving me the award!😀 My thesis is on laser chemistry for art conservation (to give the condensed version. I now know enough about lasers and the colour red to bore literally anyone. Even myself, LOL!

      I’m sure you still have lots of your German there in the archives of your brain! I tend to find it’s some of the random vocab that goes. Like I won’t be able to remember the word for ‘bowl’ or something random. But then that happens in English sometimes too. Maybe I’m just going mad…

      Like

      • Wow thats a neat topic! When are you done? Soon, Im assuming!! You can bust out more of your makeup once youre outside the walls of your amazingly gorgeous university campus ( mainly your laser room that you speak of heh)

        Like

      • I will be done soon, indeed🙂 Well, at least with the submission. How long until I’m ‘Dr. Rogue’ officially? Only the Academic Gods know. Presumably the ones of suffering, LOL!

        Hehe, our campus has some really lovely parts to it, but it also has some amazingly fugly ones! Obviously I am biased towards photographing the nice bits, LOL! You’ll never see an instagram of the chemistry building, that’s for sure. The labs inside are cool, but the outside…well,, the 60’s/70’s threw up concrete on it a bit…

        Like

  3. Loved reading your answers, also curious to know what your thesis is!🙂

    1. Elf Rouge since it’s what I always play on WoW. :p
    2. Purple lipstick, love it, pretty sure I look like a clown in it.
    3. Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Curviest Caramel.
    4. No but I did watch a couple of youtube videos on lock picking. Don’t ask me why…
    5. Trekking a fort away from the official path and taking an unknown route. Ended up muddy, tired but you can’t beat the feeling when you reach on top!
    6. Physics. I actually like the Stanford lectures on YouTube. They have everything from General Physics, Quantum Mechanics to General & Special Relativity.
    7. A general no to fruits on pizza.
    8. Depends on the level. *troll answer*
    9. Violin or guitar.
    10. Strong denial and trying to *be* human by talking about the most obvious thing we all talk about, lipsticks.

    Like

    • Hehe! Hi Xuvious!😀 My thesis is on laser chemistry for art conservation. In essence😛 It’s a cool field, and I do love it, but I’m pretty much ready to print an extra copy of my thesis to ceremonially burn when I’m all done… whenever that is…

      I hear a lot about that Chubby stick! Someday, I will try it…

      Trekking is the best fun😀 I hope I get to do some this summer! Where were you trekking?

      There are some really great physics things out there – have you read any of Feynman’s stuff? Like Six Easy Pieces and the like?

      Hehe, I’m sensing a distinct aversion to the pineapple thing in these comments😉 Here ‘Hawaiian’ pizza is pretty much a national staple, as pizza goes. I think it’s one of those things that you’re more likely to go for if you grew up with it. I like it, but I have to say that it does depend sensitively on the ingredients of the tomato sauce. If there are too many herbs in the sauce (I’m looking at you, oregano) when pineapple is present, everything just tastes off.

      You make an excellent point about the lipsticks. I mean, what else is there in (after)life? *clutches everyday work makeup bag that contains at least six different ones, plus two lip balms*

      Like

  4. 1. It’s character selection time! Your choices: a human/elf/dwarf, who is a fighter/wizard/rogue. What do you choose for yourself, and why? What would your partner/sister/mum/dog/thesis advisor/whoever be?
    While being a wizard sounds pretty cool, I’m pretty sure my talents are more rogue-suited. And I think I’d like to be an elf! My cat, I’m relatively certain, is already both of these. Sneaky little thing! 😛
    2. Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?
    There is a tiny section of my closet dedicated to mustard yellow.
    3. What is on your lips RIGHT NOW? (can be ‘nothing’ or ‘pizza sauce’ or whatever, but we should probably keep PG, folks. LOL!😉 )
    EOS smooth sphere in coconut. Soooooooo much better than the regular EOS formula.
    4. Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock?
    Roguish talents + love of Nancy Drew = I opened a lot of stuff as a kid.
    5. What’s the most dangerous adventure you’ve ever undertaken?
    I prefer to spend more time plotting than rushing into danger. More time planning = ideally, less exposure to things that might kill me? lol
    6. If you could go to university, for free, (again), with no career pressure right now, what would you study? If you’re still at uni, is there something you secretly wish you could be doing a degree in? Feel free to be serious or tailor it imaginatively (e.g. ‘Bachelor of Balancing Spoons on my Nose’).
    I have a BFA, but I’d go back and do more history/museum studies/archives work.
    7. Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?
    Sometimes tasty. But don’t pair it with ham. I hate ham.
    8. How many druids does it take to open a locked chest (the rogue was on leave)?
    Two. One to guard the chest, and the second to go beg another rogue for help.
    9. If you could be awesomely talented at any one thing (that you’re not already, of course, you fabulous adventurers, you!), what would it be?
    Climbing! That sounds like a better rogue skill than being klutzy.
    10. Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips? Nostalgia? Optimism? Because lipsticks work just as well as ‘maxillomandibular sticks’?
    Just because something is not relevant does not mean one need not argue about it.

    Like

    • Aww, now I can just see you as an elf rogue, with a sidekick catrogue. Although I don’t own any pets, and probably wouldn’t dress them up if I did, I would die a little over a cat-sized rogue hood and mask!❤

      Hehe, I actually asked that lockpick question because I was the same – Nancy Drew wasn't so big here, but I was heavily influenced by MacGyver, Get Smart and spy stuff in general. I actually managed to pick our old front door lock with a paperclip when I was aobut 9. Needless to say, we got a new secure door not long after that😛

      Yay for a fellow museums/archives nut! ^_^ Both the wizard and I are in that line – you should definitely go and pursue your interest!

      LOL, adventurers. So helpless without a rogue, amirite? *buffs nails on leather jerkin*

      Climbing is fun! but you can always use the klutziness to your advantage, as a disguise! No one will suspect you are a rogue…until you steal all their cookies!

      You make a fair point about the lipstick thing. I guess I just assumed they'd argue more about, I dunno, bone phosphate leaching in different burial conditions, or maybe the best way to get a good rattle with minimum effort…

      Like

  5. Oh God I love your ballet monster LOL As much as I love my eyeliner, if I could only pick one between that and a lipstick, I’d probably go for a lipstick as well (thank God for geeky glasses that cover it all)! If I could go to university again, I actually think I’d study law! My mom REALLY didn’t want me to, so I didn’t take that into consideration. It was not until much later in my life that I realized I could actually do it pretty well! Oh well😉 If I had studied law I might not have ended up here, so maybe it was the right decision after all.

    Like

    • Hehe🙂 She’s from the brand Nici! You can probably find one of your own in Belgium, actually. Her name is ‘Uih’. There’s also a purple one (which I also have) and a brown one, who are both ‘boys’, and called (I think) something like ‘Hihi’ and “Oops’.😀

      Lipsticks rule!😀 I’m sure you could still study law if you wanted to! I mean, I’m glad you’re here blogging, but the two (presumably) aren’t mutually exclusive… what kind of law are you interested in?

      Like

      • They have the funniest names LOL

        I don’t even know! I have a degree in European studies, so the course I took is law governing the European Union. Not sure if I can manage that on top of having a little family, work, and a blog though!

        Like

      • Hehe, but you’re Super Sunny!😉 No, I think you should do whatever makes you happy right now. That’s the nice thing about academics – they’re kind of ‘always there’ if you want to go back at some point and do something new…

        Like

  6. I feel you on the quality of photos. I’m struggling with it on my blog all the time. I buy 90% of what I review for the blog and make next to no money off it. I’ve made a whopping $7 off ads since I opened the blog. I only have an iPhone and a 5 year old point and shoot camera. I’d like a light box and a low end DSLR with a VR lens but that will set me back about 1k USD. That is really out of my price range. I almost scored nice point and shoot upgrade last night from Nikon but while I was adding other things to my cart it sold out. I was very disappointed as I stayed up until the moment the sale started to shop late last night. Also, the lighting in my house blows for photos (the PNW is very cloudy most of the time) and I’m in desperate need of more lamps. The moving company broke 3 of them and I owned 5. It’s all more money! We’re on one income right now so money is beyond tight!

    Like

    • I know, right? I work with whatever daylight is available, and the Wizard’s 10 year old camera. It’s a very nice camera, and I love that it has a macro function, but it’s certainly not ‘fancy’ by current standards.

      It’s pretty cloudy here in my bit of Middle Earth too. We’ve had some nice days recently, but today it’s cloudy again T_T. I also only have MS Powerpoint for my colour correction, so I spend a lot of time trying to get the photo right in the first place (not always successful) which is a massive time sink if the weather isn’t participating.

      As for the blog money, I’m almost certain that if I ever make anything from blogging, it’ll be because I’m actually selling a product – maybe some crafts or something. I’d love to make my own little RPG-themed makeup line, but I don’t have time to even think about that at the moment, and I feel like if you want to do that it needs to be your whole focus. Have to try the intended career out first, and see what happens, LOL!

      Like

  7. Pingback: Best Beauty Gifts | Phyrra - Beauty for the Bold

  8. Haha! Love this. Also the fact you can speak multiple languages makes me very jealous. I have no talent for them but I so wish I did.

    It’s character selection time! Your choices: a human/elf/dwarf, who is a fighter/wizard/rogue. What do you choose for yourself, and why? What would your partner/sister/mum/dog/thesis advisor/whoever be?

    Going to have to go for the elf. Cliche but I love elves. And I love celtic things and the two go together really well. As for what they are magical with a side of healer. And beast-tongue. Because this is my character darn it and I have high ambitions!😛

    My dog Waylon would be a talking dog/ dog-humanoid bodyguard. As he loves to bark at people approaching me already.

    Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?
    Hmm, I wish I could make teal/pine green a more acceptable hair colour accent. I really want to dye my hair with this as a sort of low light but then people don’t take you seriously. Which is so sad.

    What is on your lips RIGHT NOW? (can be ‘nothing’ or ‘pizza sauce’ or whatever, but we should probably keep PG, folks. LOL!😉 )
    Nada at the moment, but I will be trying on some of my new lippies I got yesterday on later.

    Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock?
    No but I’ve been tempted to try many times. Just because I think it would be a cool think to know.

    What’s the most dangerous adventure you’ve ever undertaken?
    I went on a field course to Tanzania. Amazing but the warning 3 hour seminar beforehand was enough to freak out the hardiest of souls. For example, if civil war breaks out head north to Kenya as it’s the next safest country around, do not head to the Congo.

    If you could go to university, for free, (again), with no career pressure right now, what would you study? If you’re still at uni, is there something you secretly wish you could be doing a degree in? Feel free to be serious or tailor it imaginatively (e.g. ‘Bachelor of Balancing Spoons on my Nose’).
    PhD in animal behaviour of endangered species and conservation while being a totally unique chick. (Actually am debating going back for a masters just not sure if I can get a job with it afterwards. Stupid economy).

    Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?
    I love pineapple, I love pizza but never the two should be together.

    How many druids does it take to open a locked chest (the rogue was on leave)?
    About 10. As druids are often prone to having debates on what exactly they are going to do about the problem, you need so many so that once the conversation really gets going one will accidentally shove another out of the way making him fall on his staff and send off a spell to blow open the chest.

    If you could be awesomely talented at any one thing (that you’re not already, of course, you fabulous adventurers, you!), what would it be?
    Languages. So wish I could be better at languages.

    Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips? Nostalgia? Optimism? Because lipsticks work just as well as ‘maxillomandibular sticks’?
    Because even though you’re dead doesn’t mean you can’t love to use creative colour on yourself.

    Like

    • Hi Krista! ^_^ I always say that everyone has a second language that they are awesome at. It might just be one you haven’t heard of yet!😀 I got lucky that my best fit (German) was a ‘conventional’ school language, LOL!

      High ambitions are important – you’re trying to survuve in an RPG world, after all, where every village is built on top of a portal to damnation or whatever, and people are gonna expect you to do something about it! From everyone’s responses here, I think there would be a pretty awesome adventuring party in the making😉

      EXCITING! NEW LIPSTICKS FTW! I am such a terrible lipstick addict T_T How did they go! Which ones are they?!😀

      You should totally try picking a lock. Get a couple of paperclips, bend them into a loop and a straight one, and have a go! I started on the little lock on my ‘secret diary’ when I was a kid (I lost the keys, of course) and went from there. Naturally, I’ve never picked anything of anyone else’s (unless asked to), but it’s super fun!

      The field course sounds amazing! What kind of field course was it? Yeah, it can get pretty hair-raising, the things they have to tell you about some places you’re gong! That’s a little bit of the adventure though (although obviously we’d all rather that the Congo etc were just happy and stable).

      I feel you on the Masters/PhD/job/economy thing. People blather on about how profitable it is to get a STEM degree, but so often there’s a fine line between ‘OMG! a STEM degree!’ and ‘yeah, you’re basically unemployable because we’d have to pay you too much’. Someone was gushing at me the other day about how awesome my starting salary would be with a PhD, and although I appreciated their optimism, I had to gently mention that one should never go into higher postgraduate stuff with the assumption that it will make one employable at all, let alone rich😉 We do it for the love of the learning.
      …right?!?! >_>….. <_<

      Having said all that, you should totally follow your dream. Gotta be in it to win it, right? the same is true of careers…😀

      Bahahaha! Your solution to the druid question is aweosme! You make an excellent point about the skeleton/lipstick thing too. I wonder if they have trouble with the bullets breaking against the bone? Maybe they're more into a pot rouge kind of deal instead?

      Like

  9. Pingback: Join the Beauty Spotlight Team for some fun reads and favorite products

  10. Pingback: The Beauty Spotlight Team Weekly Reads Prime Beauty Blog

  11. Pingback: The Post-Turkey Beauty Spotlight Team Round-Up

  12. Pingback: Tales of Adventure from the Beauty Spotlight Team! Cracked Nuts, Killer Eyes and Interrogation… | The Painted Rogue

  13. Hey Syl! What a fun read! I love all the accompanying photos, too!😀 Gimme that Ballet Monster noooooow!!! I would choose a lipstick over an eyeliner, too, any day! I’m not surprised you can speak so many languages! You are one smart and talented lady and I’m so glad we are (blog) friends! I like being around smart people. Hehe

    LOL at the eyebrow waggling thing. Yes, it is a totally legit talent! ;D Thanks for mentioning my blog. You are too kind! ^_^” I’m still struggling with my lighting at times, though. It’s hard to get accurate colors when it’s always gloomy and cloudy outside! >.<

    Like

    • Hehe, go find a store that sells Nici toys, look up the pink monster called ‘Uih’, and you can have a ballet monster of your very own!❤

      *waggles brows* Your photos are always awesome, Jaa! But I do understand there always being somewhere where you're looking to improve! Damn perfectionist PhD persona! LOL!

      Like

  14. Better late than never, so here I go…

    1. It’s character selection time! Your choices: a human/elf/dwarf, who is a fighter/wizard/rogue. What do you choose for yourself, and why? What would your partner/sister/mum/dog/thesis advisor/whoever be?

    Human and Batman as partner😀

    2. Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?

    Pink, it is so difficult to pull this color, I manage somehow with peach tone pinks which work(somewhat).

    3. What is on your lips RIGHT NOW? (can be ‘nothing’ or ‘pizza sauce’ or whatever, but we should probably keep PG, folks. LOL!😉 )

    Winter is coming😀 In southern Indian it doesn’t get as cold as northern India but the change in season has made my skin dry and rough, so Burt’s bee lip-balms are always on.

    4. Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock?

    Yes! Once, my friend locked a party dress in suitcase and left town with keys, I had to wear that dress. I watched a few YouTube videos to pick the lock but did not succeed. Lastly I took the suitcase to blacksmith and had the lock broken😀

    5. What’s the most dangerous adventure you’ve ever undertaken?

    Free fall water rides (does that count?) :p

    6. If you could go to university, for free, (again), with no career pressure right now, what would you study? If you’re still at uni, is there something you secretly wish you could be doing a degree in? Feel free to be serious or tailor it imaginatively (e.g. ‘Bachelor of Balancing Spoons on my Nose’).

    I really want to do my studies again, and enroll into Culinary Arts!

    7. Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?

    Pineapple should be left for pineapple upside down cake😉

    8. How many druids does it take to open a locked chest (the rogue was on leave)?

    Who druid?

    9. If you could be awesomely talented at any one thing (that you’re not already, of course, you fabulous adventurers, you!), what would it be?

    Dancing, really, can’t even do aerobics gracefully

    10. Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips? Nostalgia? Optimism? Because lipsticks work just as well as ‘maxillomandibular sticks’?

    When they were alive, they swore to take lipsticks to their graves, to rest in peace. But it was revealed they could take only one lipstick, they are forever deciding and are stuck being undead.😀

    Like

    • LOL, when in doubt: just bring Batman!

      Believe it or not, even I feel you on cool-tone pinks. Sometimes they can really sap the life out of you! warmer pinks and peaches can be a lot more forgiving!

      Hehe, I guess you know it was a very secure suitcase!😀

      Mmmm. pineapple upside down cake… *Homer Simpson drool*

      You know, funnily enough, I’ve never really thought about grace in aerobics – not because I don’t think it can be graceful, but somehow because grace for me always gives me a more languid feeling, whereas I associate aerobics with punchy energy…and no, I have no idea why I suddenly went off on that tangent…

      WOW. That would suck. I never thought about that – only one lipstick? That’s just harsh. People gotta think about grave goods, man. You can’t just send them off with only one choice… really.😉

      Like

  15. You can read hieroglyphs? O_______O Are you sure you’re working in the right field? LOL I’m so glad you joined the beauty blogging community with your multitude of non-secrety talents. I’ll answer a few of your fun Qs just so it feels even.🙂

    2. Is there a colour (could be clothes, makeup, hair, whatever) that you struggle to wear, but are determined to pull off somehow?

    I’m not determined to pull it off but pale rose and blush hues make me look completely washed out and that gives me the sads because HELLO, BEAUTIFUL.

    3. What is on your lips RIGHT NOW?

    Leftover soup commingled with Clarins Lip Balm Crayon in 05 Delicious Plum – yum yum all around.

    4. Have you ever had to/tried to pick a lock?

    Not really, but my siblings and I got locked out of our house quite often due to absent-mindedly forgetting our keys, so we used to break in through the back window all the time.

    7. Pineapple on pizza: what’s your take on this thorny issue?

    I don’t order it myself personally but then I’ve never declined a pizza with pineapple on it.😀

    9. Why do the skeletal undead always waste time arguing over lipsticks when they have no lips?

    Ahhh, sadness – they have no lips so they want lip-oriented things more ardently than anyone else. Can I donate my unloved lipsticks to them?

    Like

    • You know, I ask myself that question almost daily, so it’s funny you should mention that. I’m choosing to believe that it’s ‘endofthesisitis’…😉

      Mmm…soup. The wizard sometimes gets some in his beard. Claims he’s saving it for later. magic users, I swear…😀

      W00t! Another pineapple pizza non-hater!😀

      We need to start a fund for these undead sufferers. It’s even Christmas! We could do a charity drive at the local tavern!😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

