Loot Alert! What are Your Drugstore Favourites?

Greetings from the head of the party, fellow rogues!

No, I haven’t discovered a trap (unless you’re watching out for your wallet at the moment!), it’s something much better! Loot!

As an aside: I must apologise for recent sparse posting – the giant spiders nesting in our internet cables have struck again (there’s always at least one egg left, right?)! Things should be on the mend, but enchanted arachnids are pretty tough. There’s just no talking with them, honestly.

Back on topic: I didn’t get a chance to take swatches, unfortunately,  but there were so many ‘new’ things I saw, I just wanted to wave all the treasure at you to let you know it’s here! Since the post is a little more sparse than usual, I wanted to add a question for all you fellow adventurers out there:

What are your favourite drugstore/pharmacy makeup products? Holy grails? Epic high-end dupes?

My own favourites include Revlon’s lip products (Super Lustrous lipsticks and Colorburst Lip Butters, glosses and chubby pencils!) the Maybelline pot gel liner, and some neat neons from the Australis line. I’ve also had good times with Nyx (although sadly it’s not directly available here), and Bloom used to be available in NZ pharmacies and their lipsticks remain a firm favourite.

Inquiring rogue minds want to know! Let me know what you’re a fan of in the comments below :-D.

Right! 😀

On with the loot!

We’ve got polishes from Revlon (see some swatches on The Makeup Train here!), the Maybelline Color Elixir glosses have finally turned up (Christine has her usual impeccable reviews here!), Za seems to have some new glosses out with some fetching colours (anyone tried these?) and L’Oreal has a new line of matte lipsticks!

 

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

New Revlon gel polishes – there are some pretty sparkles and fun bright colours in theis treasure chest – and the deal is still on!

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

A couple of my favourites from what I surveyed! Pocket Aces (coral) and Showtine (shimmering dark blurple).

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

Maybelline Color Elixir glosses! Finally! 😀 We don’t have all the colours, but more may eventuate…

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

Some new glosses from Za – has anyone tried these? I haven’t had anything from Za yet!

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

Aaaaand…closer up!

Loot Alert - What are your favourite drugstore makeup products?

A (relatively) new line of matte lipsticks from L’Oreal.

 

Phew! What do you think, fellow adventurers? Anything catch your eye? Have you tried any of these? What did you think? 🙂 Don’t forget to let me know what your drugstore favourites are in the comments below!

Happy Looting!

Until next time, fellow rogues, don’t forget to check for loot as well as traps!

Syl

 

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images on this blog are the property of Syl unless otherwise noted. They may not be reproduced without permission – if you do, I’ll send goblin hordes after you. Plague-ridden ones.

33 thoughts on “Loot Alert! What are Your Drugstore Favourites?

  1. Hey Syl! I really like Revlon Lip Butters, CoverGirl Lash Blast Volume mascara, L’oreal Miss Manga mascara, Neutrogena makeup removing wipes, OPI nail polishes, Olay skincare, and Cerave skincare! I’ve heard really good things about Maybelline’s cream shadows and want to try it soon.

    Like

    • I keep hearing about the Miss Manga! Now I want to see if we have it here… 😀

      Revlon’s lip stuff is just so great – I actually think, you know, that their lip butters were the first of their lip products that I ever tried (although, on reflection, there may have been a 4 pan little lip palette from them that was actually first.. back in like 2000 or something when I was a teenager… #yesiamthatold).

      Do you mean the Color Tattoo ones? I really want to try them too! We only have the original colours though, and we don’t get the LE ranges, which is a shame. I’m kind of interested in trying Barely Branded and Bad to the Bronze, though!

      Like

  2. The purple sparkling nail polish look pretty ! I was looking for a dupe of Butter London, cause the price here is insane. I’ll check about this ! ❤
    Xoxo
    Michelle

    Like

    • Ooh, how bad is the BL price where you are? They’re $30 each here, but I’ll be damned if Come to Bed Red isn’t the best red polish I’ve ever tried! Is that the one you like?

      The purple one is definitely the one that caught my eye first 😉 I am a lover of all things purple and sparkly – I have been all my life so far, and I think I always will be!

      Like

      • I dont remember the BL price exactly. I’m in Switzerland, prices for cosmetics are insane !
        It’s a gorgeous Amethyst purple saturated with sparkles, saw it some weeks ago. Need to find a dupe or i’ll end to splurge on it 😦 !

        Like

      • Definitely hold off for a dupe! I have three BL glitters (Rosie Lee, Henley Regatta and The Black knight) and although they are super pretty (and BL cremes are magical), all three glitters are stringy and difficult to work with. I say try the Revlon! Check out the link to The Makeup Train if you’d like to see it in action…

        I know exactly how you feel with crazy prices – New Zealand gets a pretty bad deal on most things. For example, MAC lipsticks are $56 each here! (That’s 43 CHF, it seems).

        Like

      • Thanks ! I’ll check the Revlon !
        Omg ! It’s insane !
        Mac is overpriced here too. When i saw the p-tag of their brushes over here, i decided to jump directly to Tom Ford by asking friends to bring me some from the US ! And i’m so happy i did this. Love TF brushes !!!

        Like

  3. Revlon lippies (i still mourn the loss of the now discontinued nude lustre – all Revlon lip products except for the useless lip markers have been), Rimmel eyebrow pencil, Maybelline Fit Me foundation, Barry M nail polishes.

    Like

    • Woo! Another vote for Revlon! Well, this wasn’t an election, technically. But it’s always nice to see when people share your favourites! 😉

      Hm, I wonder if the Rimmel alcoves here have the eyebrow pencil… I may need to investigate…

      Welcome to the Painted Rogue, Lynda!

      Like

  4. Wow, I LOVE the Revlon nail polish display!!! How creative!! 8-0

    My most favorite drugstore product is shown here! The Maybelline Color Elixir! They are the bomb, Syl! You must try one at least! I have had like, 5-6 colors so far but I know I’ll eventually collect all shades! Honestly, I think they are just as good as those Dior Fluid Sticks — oops! (and for a fraction of the cost!)

    My other favorite drugstore items are the Maybelline Falsies mascara, Wet n Wild 8-pan eyeshadow palette, and Revlon Color Balm Stains. 🙂

    Hope your cable thing gets sorted out soon! I’ve missed your posts!

    Like

    • Damn you! I was trying to resist the urge to get one of those Color Elixirs! I wish we’d gotten the whole range, as I remember seeing a review of one with ‘Apricot’ in the name that looked cool.

      *goes to check Jaa’s review*

      OMGYOUHAVETHEAPRICOTONEARGHFLAILWTFENVYOMG

      And there’s a purple one and everything?! Dammit, this is like the Color Tattoos – we get maybe 5 shades, and probably won’t see the cool ones!

      I miss posting too! I can’t post easily, and I can’t comment on other people’s blogs easily either, because none of the pictures will load! :-S I’m using my work computer, shhhh….

      Like

  5. My DS favorites could fill the Dark Forest 10x over. I have that many!

    I love Revlon Super Lustrous (lipsticks and glosses), Wet n Wild eyeshadows, blushes. bronzers, nail polishes and lipsticks. Their pressed powder is also pretty good. Revlon nail polishes, Colorstay foundation, L’Oreal nail polishes, Infallible eyeshadows, Maybelline gel liner, Milani lipsticks (Sweet Nectar, Sangria, Uptown Mauve) and blushes (Berry Amour is a lovely blush color), Rimmel Kate Moss lipstick in 08, Maybelline eye quads in Chai Latte, Sunlit Bronze, Designer Chocolates, Ulta gel pencil liner in Mink Brown, Essence gel liner, NYX Soft Matte lip creams, and many, many items from NYX.

    🙂

    Like

    • Yay fellow Revlon fan! 😀 I feel like there is probably a Revlon counter in the starting village of every adventurer, and it’s where many of us have our first brush with a love of makeup (and edged weapons – those are the next counter over).

      I WANT MILANI LIPSTICKS ARGH. Why are they not sold here?!? *flail* I want Violet Volt! Also with the Nyx. I need at least Transylvania, Raspberry Pie (?) and a bunch of other stuff.

      Once again: *flail*

      Like

  6. l’oreal is my favorite us drugstore brand. I especially like their mascaras, caresse wet shine lip stain and hip metallic shadow duo in 510! I’m also a huge fan of revlon’s colorburst lip balms and lustrous lip gloss in kiss me coral. if you’re ever in Asia, I love interdate’s eye shadows and majolica majorca’s lash king mascara

    Like

    • You know, I haven’t ever really tried much L’Oreal. I have no idea why, since I see plenty of love for it, and it’s always right there next to the Relvlon! I need to investigate…

      I have a Majo Majo mascara! There’s a store here in Auckland that has a whole wall of their stuff (mostly eye products) as well as other Japanese brands. I haven’t opened it yet, as I’m still working on another mascara, but I will review it as soon as I do! 😀

      Like

  7. Those Revlon gel polishes look nice!
    My drugstore favorites are actually mostly Revlon. I like their super lustrous lipsticks, Colorburst matte balms & balm stains & lip butters, their Colorstay lipliners and oily/combo foundation, and their parfumerie nail polishes. I really like Revlon, what can I say? You should check out their Colorburst balm stain in Sweetheart Valentine if you haven’t already. I recently got it and it’s so pretty, leaving a nice popsicle-stain lip look..The wintermint parfumerie nail polish is a close (and affordable!) dupe for Deborah Lippmann’s Mermaid’s Dream nail polish 🙂

    I also like the Milani baked blushes in Luminoso and Bella Rosa. And the last thing I’ll mention is NYX lip products, especially the soft matte lip cream in the shade Sao Paulo. It’s becoming easier to find NYX around here so I may pick up a few more things.

    Hope your pesky giant spider problem gets resolved~

    Like

    • Seems we’re in good company, Ellie! I’m seeing a lot of love for Revlon here, especially their lip products 🙂 Thanks for the tip about Sweetheart Valentine – that’s actually part of a line I haven’t tried yet from Revlon!

      I *so* wish Milani was a thing here, OMG. The very first thing I would do would be buy Violet Volt, then dig into the blushes! Nyx is another one on the list I wish we could get here – I got my Nyx in Germany!

      I hope so too, augh! T_T

      Like

  8. Revlon and loreal are my least favourite drugstore brands actually! I tend to buy and try a lot of maybelline and rimmel, but one of my fave brands is sleek. I love their eyeshadow palettes! And I also love Bourjois, basically anything from them is great but especially the mascaras and foundation.

    Like

  9. 1.Revlon Lippies. All of them.
    2. L’Oreal Mascara and Gel Polish. All of them.
    3. Maybelline Fit Me concealer is surprisingly good for a drugstore tube concealer.
    4. Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick was nice but they reformulated and I haven’t tried it since.

    I think that Revlon CS whipped is ok and CoverGirl stick concealer is good in a jam.

    Powders, Foundations, Eyeshadow, and highlighters are all my HE products.

    Like

    • High fives for a fellow Revlon lipstick lover! 😀 I must take a look at that Maybelline concealer, although I feel like they only brought it here in two medium shades or something. I may be unfairly tarnishing their name there, but I’ll have to check, LOL!

      I would definitely agree that I’ve had better luck with HE eyeshadows! I have some decent ones from Revlon and Maybelline, but the quality is kinda variable, and when a little Maybelline palette still costs $17-20 here, you kinda just end up springing for the shipping from UD, or saving up for a Chanel quad or something…

      Like

  10. Fun post! Some of my favs: the Maybelline Colorsensational vivid lipsticks, the Maybelline color elixir glosses, revlon superlustrous lipsticks, loreal eyeliner pencils, maybelliner illegal lenghts mascara, loreal telescopic mascara! There are some Canadian ones that I LOVE like the BB creams by Marcelle and Annabelle.

    Like

    • Augh! You people and your love for the Color Elixirs! 😀 I was excited to see them here, but was trying to resist their charms…and now you’re all like ‘Oh, they’re great!’

      Hoisted by my own petard, much? 😀

      Ooh, I haven’t heard of the Marcelle and Annabelle brands before!

      Like

  11. My eyes are permanently glued to the local drugstore shelves and the SAs have started to look at me funny for squatting there. ;O

    I like a lot of things from the drugstores but it’s been a while since I’ve determined any faves. I think the problem is that even when I like a certain colour/shade from a series, I often encounter uneven distribution of quality. This has happened with basically everything Revlon in my experience. I’ll just go away and be a wet blanket on someone else’s post now, lol.

    Like

    • You know what’s awkward? When the pharmacy you frequent has, as two of its trainee pharmacists, people you taught that same year in an undergraduate chemistry course. They’re lovely people, but somehow I prefer my drugstore squatting to be anonymous… 😉

      Wet blanket away! It’s easy to get quite skewed when speaking about one’s favourites – for example, I adore three of the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters that I’ve tried, but I thought the other three were kind of rubbish – I agree completely that quality can be distressingly variable, even within the same line! Maybelline eyeshadows are another good example of this, I think. It’s actually a kind of wonderfully terrible day when, after being a Revlon lipstick devotee, you try a high end brand and sort of go ‘Oh. So. There is actually a quality difference. Huh. AUGHWALLETIAMSORRY!’ Or thoughts to that effect. I still love my Revlon, but Guerlain Roselip is the first lipstick I ever tried that left my lips feeling smoother, softer and better *after* four hours of wear. T__T

      I think a ‘what are your ‘totally worth it’ high end faves?’ post might be in order soon!

      Like

      • LOL – so did you give those kids good grades at least, so that if you’re caught squatting, they’ll have mercy??

        I despise brand snobbery but it’s so true that you can really get used to better quality quickly and forsake all else. Still haven’t made myself purchase a Guerlain lipstick yet but I’ve ruled out Chanel lipsticks at least – they’re all terribly drying despite the chic packaging!

        Like

      • I believe they did do well in thr course, so they have positive memories of it, at least 😉

        Oh no! Chanel is drying on you? 😦 OK, to be fair, I’ve only ever tried *one* of their Rouge Coco lipsticks (#40 Charme), but I love it and it was my wedding lipstick, and my lips feel softer after several hours of wear than before I put it on! Do they all dry you out, or is it one of their ranges in particular?

        At least it saves your wallet, LOL!

        Like

Leave a Reply

