Answer Me These Questions Three! – A Suitably Geeky Makeup Poll #2

Greetings from behind a mythril clipboard, fellow rogues!

Questing is a serious business, and as every good adventurer knows, it’s hard to get by without a bit of help and knowledge from your fellow treasure seekers. Which is the best brand of hinge grease? How do you defeat an enchanted automaton before the shine even leaves your lipgloss? Just how much beer *can* a dwarf drink in one sitting?

In the spirit of such inquiry, I have devised the Rogue Approved QuestionnaireΒ for the Extraction of Secrets. Also known as ‘Answer Me These Questions Three’. The questions are simple, and you are free to answer as fully, as tersely, as logically or as fantastically as you like. Please only use blue or black ink, and consult the orc-xaminer if you require an additional answer booklet.

You can copy and paste the questions into the comment box, or just list your answers if you prefer πŸ™‚

 

The Questions

 

  • It seems like every adventurer has a favourite brush weapon. As a rogue who mostly used her fingers,Β I have a specific request: what do you think is the best brush out there for smooshing, smudging and tactically schmearing things along the lash line? There’s one caveat – it can’t be MAC! (their stuff is impossibly expensive here – hello ~$80 217! -, and you can’t buy online).

  • Do you fill in your lips all the way to the lipline with lipstick? Or do you leave a little space at the edges? Or do you put in a little extra to correct the line? The paladin wants to know!

  • How many clerics does it take to change a lightbulb?

 

Makeup Poll

I asked these guys what their favourite illuminating blushΒ was, and they argued for HOURS. Jeez…

 

 

I’m looking forward to reading your answers! πŸ™‚

 

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com. All content on this website, including images, is the property of the owner/author (Sylirael The Painted Rogue, unless otherwise stated), and may not be reproduced without permission. If you do, I’ll send Beholders after you. They’re angry, because they have conjunctivitis.

48 thoughts on “Answer Me These Questions Three! – A Suitably Geeky Makeup Poll #2

  1. What do you think is the best brush out there for smooshing, smudging and tactically schmearing things along the lash line? I have a very pitiful collection of brushes but I have found and never found a need to replace my EcoTools basic brush kit. They don’t have numbers but I believe the brush just says “smudge” along the side and it’s rather small and dense. They are drugstore prices but I’ve never had one shed on me (I’m looking at you, Sephora brand!) or change shape (I’m looking at you, random other drugstore brushes!). I don’t own any MAC brushes either.

    Do you fill in your lips all the way to the lipline with lipstick? Why yes, sometimes to the point where it migrates a tad outward along my lower lip. But if I’m going to put color on my lips, go big or go home! I’ve been stalking Pintrest lately for bold lip ideas and found this picture which I think is -lovely-.

    GIMME YOUR LIPS, JESSICA!

    How many clerics does it take to change a lightbulb? Two: one to actually do the job and the other to roll their face along their keyboard and nearly get everyone killed in the process.
    (best question ever)

    Like

    • You know, we have EcoTools here, and that is the brush set I keep on looking at! I think I shall have to re-investigate….

      That is indeed a lovely picture on Pinterest… I want her lipstick…but I also want her hair!

      Cleric: ROFL. πŸ˜€ Seriously, I just choked on my lunch *wipes tears from eyes*

      Like

  2. I love the little Ecotools flat angled brush for lining under my lower lashes with eyeshadow. I don’t usually smudge eyeliner–maybe a few times my Tarte plum liner, and for that I use the sponge thingy at the end of the eyeliner pencil. (My Hakuhodo J242G or G5515 would probably make more sense.) I put lipstick a tad outside part of my upper lipline, otherwise just to the lipline. As for the clerics, why bother with a sad, profane lightbulb when you can channel divine radiant light effective against the undead through your holy symbol or mace?

    Like

  3. 1. I’m not a brush connoisseur (connoisseuse?) either, but I do have a favorite lashline brush: the tiny brush that came with theBalm’s Nude ‘tude palette. The brush is double-ended, and I suppose the thicker end is meant for applying eyeshadow all over the lid, but it’s much too small for that purpose (admittedly, I have a lot of eyelid real estate). Instead, both ends work as liner brushes, since they’re both flat and angled. They’re different sizes, though, which allows room for variation.

    2. I always err on the side of leaving extra space at the edges. I hate the look of overdrawn lips: it’s so obvious, and what’s wrong with having small lips anyway? Plus, the bolder my lipstick, the more I care about a precise, non-smudgy shape. I think that comes from watching too many videos of geisha and maiko applying lip rouge…

    3. I don’t know what a cleric is, at least in a role-playing context! Forgive me! /o\ In a real-life context, well…more than one and you have a schism on your hands.

    Like

    • It’s amazing how often the brushes that come with palettes are useful for something totally different to their original intended purpose. As I mentioned in the UD liner post (I think, either in the post or in a comment), I use something that I think was a lip brush to smoosh eyeliner now, and I use a little eyeshadow brush that came with something to do my eyebrows!

      Lips: I was interested to hear people’s responses to this, actually, because it seems to be quite a ‘love it or hate it’ kind of thing… I suppose, with the ‘going outside the lines’ idea, you have to be quite tactical about it, and quite sparing. If I was trying to do any large scale alteration, I’d be scared that it would wear off unevenly, but I can see the benefit if, for example, the two peaks of your cupid’s bow are different heights and it bothers you, or if you had a scar on your lipline, etc.

      Cleric thing: The replies to this of all kinds are seriously making my cry laughing, LOL! ^_^ You’re so right: just try to get two clerics to agree on how to do *anything*…

      Like

      • You’re really right about both lip points… I had a mole removed from my upper lip when I was just a baby. I don’t have a scar but my lips aren’t exactly symmetrical. I used to be more self conscious about it and try to line my lips evenly, especially with darker or brighter shades. But that started looking more obvious than my actual lips so I don’t do it anymore.

        Like

      • There’s something quite empowering about embracing your natural physical quirks – especially when it comes to ‘beauty’, as we’re often looking much more closely at our faces than anyone else is looking at us! It’s kind of easy to end up obsessing over something relatively small!

        Like

      • They could probably agree on the fact none of them want to do it in the first place!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  4. I have a ton of Japanese brushes (pricier than Mac but Sooo worth it!) but as none are for “smooshing” I’d use my Nars I think it’s #15. I’d stay away from sigma unless you enjoy pain as damn they’re scratchy.m yes I use lipstick all the way on my upper lip but not so on my lower one! Last question no clue lol

    Like

    • Actually I just thought about this and rudely didn’t ask, are you looking for synthetic or natural hair brush? And that’s way too freakin high for a Mac brush especially that one! Why didn’t you pick one in Dubai lol

      Like

      • Dubai was still kind of expensive when it came to MAC, actually. MAC basically just seems to like to exploit its international consumers (OK, they’re not the only ones by any means, but here their stuff is 3x as expensive, while -for example- Chanel only bumps it up to 2x. It’s bad in both cases, but they must be paying the same ‘import taxes’, so where does the extra come from to justify MAC’s $56 lipsticks?)

        As for hair type…I guess I haven’t thought much about it. I know that different types are supposed to be better for different purposes…

        Like

    • Cool–I just placed my first Koyudo order a couple of days ago! Fu-Pa 13 for liquid foundation, C011 pencil brush (outer V), and BP016 blush brush. I am really looking forward to them! I am a huge fan of the Hakuhodo eyeshadow brushes. Have not tried any Chikuhodos yet, but they sound fantastic, too. I thought the Hakuhodo eyeshadow brushes weren’t that much pricier than Mac, but I could remember incorrectly–I use the white goat ones, though; I know they carry pricier ones.

      Like

      • The Japanese brushes always look so luxurious! I remember Lisa Eldridge raving about her Suqqu face brush, and how she just kind of likes to stroke it over her face for no other reason than it feels nice! ^_^ I wonder if there are eye brushes like that…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Do you read the Sweet Makeup Temptations blog? The blogger has very sensitive skin and knows what _all_ the softest brushes are! She’s got great advice on an incredible number of brushes–I always check her site when I’m looking into brushes. Sounds like red squirrel hair brushes from Koyudo are especially soft. Hakuhodo has lots of blue squirrel brushes, too, which also sound extremely soft, and their white goat sounds like it is a lot less scratchy than that used by companies outside Japan. Pretty sure the squirrel ones are softer, though. The white goat ones work very nicely for me, so I don’t shell out for the somewhat pricier squirrel ones. I only have Hakuhodo, Ecotools, and Sephora brushes so far, though, so I don’t know what squirrel hair feels like or have my own comparison of Hakuhodo white goat vs. others’ white goat brushes, though.

        Like

      • Ooh, thanks for the blog tip! πŸ˜€ I’m always on the lookout for people whose brush knowledge is superior to my own – granted, that might include basically everyone, but it’s awesome of some people really have in depth knowledge!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. 1) Wait what? 217 costs EIGHTY BUCKS there? NO KIDDING!

    I usually use MAC 219 for smudging liner out on my lower lash line, and I know many reasonably-priced brands make pencil brushes. Maybe look into those?

    2) Uh I follow my natural lip lines normally. I am actually not use to using a lip liner because of that. I’m fine with my lips the way they are, and once they are “corrected” they look weird to me!

    3) I’m not sure, but I’m guessing more than one :p

    Like

    • Something like that. It may be ‘seventy-something’, but that’s not much better, really πŸ˜‰ We’ve just had Real Techniques come out here, so there might be something there.

      Heh, yeah, I guess it depends on the ‘correction’. I’ve played around with it myself, but I too tend to find that it looks strange. (Having said that, I have fairly full lips, so there’s not a lot I feel I need to change).

      LOL, probably! Certainly takes more than one to argue about who’s going to do it πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. 1) I personally like an angled brush for smooshing makeup-type products into my lash line. I’m not married to any particular brand or anything (mostly because MAC and other comparable brands are obscenely expensive here in Australia, too), but I’d be looking for one shaped like this: http://www.lovecosmetics.com/images/source/Benefit_Precision_Angle_Brush.jpg

    2) I like to go right out to the lip line. I can’t be tamed! If it’s a really bold colour though, or the formula feels like the type that would like to go on a grand adventure on the rest of my face, I use a colourless, wax-based lip liner to keep it in place. I know e.l.f. sells one on their Australian website; not sure if they ship over to Middle Earth, but definitely worth looking into. I’m also a fan of applying coloured liner all over my lips and topping with gloss. Less migration, and you can still apply right up to the edge.

    3) Cleric, pah. A task that requires dexterity? Bring in the rogue!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 1) I feel your pain *pats shoulder in sympathy*. An angled brush, eh? There seems to be a couple of schools of thought: angled and pencil. Hmm – you can totally tell how much research I’ve done up until now, huh? πŸ˜‰

      2) I too have a colourless liner if I really need a bright lipstick to STAY OMG, but I’m usually too lazy to use it. It’s the Dior one, but when it’s finished (if I ever finish it) I’d considered looking into the UD one. However, if there is a cheaper alternative that’s decent, colour me intrigued! I, too, hear good things about the liner+gloss method. I might try to explore this further with the one little coloured lipliner I have… :-D!

      3) LOL, so true! Some days, though, we’re just like ‘Oh, FFS guys, figure it out for yourselves for once’ πŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. Oh this is fun! I like polls πŸ™‚

    1) I am totally in love with my MAC 219 Pencil Brush! But Sigma has a pretty good dupe, too.

    2) I’m pretty messy when it comes to my lipstick application. I apply lipstick the way I apply lip balm… which is very carelessly, lol.

    3) I want to give you a witty answer here but I don’t have one <.<

    Like

    • 1) I hear a lot about Sigma! I wish they actually sold them in physical locations here so I could go and do some brush fondling… πŸ˜‰

      2) This is one of the reasons I love sheer(ish) inoffensive coloured pink/coral/mauve lipsticks and glosses – no-mirror application, and who cares if you don’t meet the lines perfectly? πŸ˜€ I’m wearing one today, as a matter of fact (Revlon Demure). πŸ˜€

      3) It’s OK πŸ˜‰ The clerics don’t have one either, LOL!

      Like

  8. Makeup Forever 2S. The edge is nice and narrow for eye lining and just wide enough for smudging and has a nice long handle. I got it at Sephora for a very reasonable price. Can’t remember exactly how much! πŸ˜„ With lipstick I like to use just lipstick and to go right to the edge of my lips. I have always done it that way. As far as the clerics dilemma…….. I was like Kiss & Make-up, I was hoping to come up with a witty answer!!! So I slept on it!!! 😴😴😴 Alas no answer!!! πŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜„ But I am LOVIN Lady Big Ducks answer!!! πŸ˜„πŸ˜‰πŸ˜„πŸ˜Ž So I will go with that one!!! HA HA

    Like

    • Thanks for the heads’ up for MUFE! I love the lipsticks I have from them, and there are a lot of other things I’d like to try! So glad to hear you’re loving their brushes as well πŸ™‚

      Lady Big Duck does make a truly excellent point. Whenever there’s something practical you need to get done, a rogue is always a reliable choice to do it!

      Like

  9. Just found more info on the Hakuhodo G5515. Drivel about Frivol (search on “Drivel about Frivol precision instruments) says it is good for smudging and also precision work. It is like the MAC 219 but smaller and costs $10 less ($25 for Mac vs. $15 for the Hakuhodo). If I recall, Hakuhodo’s shipping is on the expensive side. The couple of times I’ve ordered, I’ve done it in bunches. I don’t think they have free shipping over a certain amount like a lot of sites do. G and J series shadow brushes definitely look less expensive than Macs, and they are supposed to feel nicer on your skin. I could be wrong, but I don’t think I’ve ever noticed a Hakuhodo sale, so if Mac does sales on brushes, I expect the prices could get much more comparable. J242G and J142 are my other favorite Hakuhodo shadow brushes, and J5523 is also fantastic.

    Like

  10. 1.I really like my Armani brushes. I’d check out ecotools or real techniques down there.

    2. I rarely use lip liner. I go all the way to the edges. I often use a lip brush for colors like dark dark berries, reds, or intense matte colors so they look more polished.

    3. 0 Clerics… the cleric just asks a mage to create light because you know, there is no electricity in D&D.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 1) Ooh, I don’t hear a lot about Armani brushes, so that’s really interesting, Erin! πŸ˜€ I wish we had GA here – there are so many things I’d like to try from them (oddly, pretty much all of the GA counters I saw in Dubai were horribly raided/badly maintained! I did try the Maestro foundation, but the lipsticks were all jumbled and mashed and half the shades weren’t there…)

      2) There’s something super satisfying about using a lip brush to create a razor sharp edge to a bold lip. πŸ˜€

      3) ROFL, good answer! So true πŸ˜‰

      Like

  11. 1. Urban Decay of all the brands had the best smudge brush but it’s now discontinued. It had a small dome shape that was perfect for smudging out fat crayon pencils. Hourglass makes a similar one but the bristles seem a little longer. I hate brushes. If only our fingers were small enough. :<

    2. No space on the lip lines! All the way to the edge but never beyond (unless concealer and lip liners are involved with three hours prep time).

    3. Who are these useless clerics? Get rid of them!

    Like

    • 1. *cries* And from a favourite brand, too! Maybe they’ll bring it back someday… I know exactly what you mean about brushes though – all my eye looks are done exclusively with fingers (unless otherwise stated), and the amount of time I spend trying to blend out my lash lines with the edge of my little finger is ridiculous!

      2) Another for team All the Way πŸ˜€

      3) ROFL, good question! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  12. 1. Smudge brushes – Ecotools has a mini brush set that has a smudge brush (with a rounded tip) that’s really great for smudging out liner. Real Techniques angled liner brush (is it called brow brush? I’m not sure) is also great for that. I also like ELF’s studio angled liner brush – it’s pretty effective for the price, and is fairly soft (not a very good option if you have super sensitive skin, though!)

    2. I leave a little bit of space around the sides of the lips, and don’t go all the way to the lip line (it would look silly on me). I use a clear lip liner around the edges, fill ’em in with lipstick (from the bullet, mind you) and bam! I’m done πŸ™‚

    3. None. They’d just end up summoning a mage!

    Like

    • Aha! Ecotools strike again! πŸ˜€ *must go and look*

      2) Ooh…a person who doesn’t go to the lipline! I’m curious – why do you feel it makes you look funny? Sometimes I feel like the outer edge of my bottom lip looks too, uh, non-tapered at the corners if I go all the way to the edge with a light lipstick. Do you get the same?

      3) I think you’re probably right! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • So I have this weird dual-pigmentation thing with the outside of my lips – while the ‘border’ is sort of defined, it’s a little on the hazy side. So if I take my lipstick to right where the pigmentation ends, it makes me look as though I’ve overdrawn my lips (and not in a flattering way). So I usually stop just a tiny bit inside, which works well for me πŸ™‚

        And I get you on the non-tapered look thing. My lips are a wee bit on the thin side, so going right up the the edge screams ‘HOLY CARPFISH CAN YOU SAY CHEAP BOTOX!!’

        Like

      • Heh, the ‘botox fail’ look is definitely a bad one, and it’s distressingly easy to achieve! I think it depends on the lipstick too, since a really dark one can go over a bit more than a pale one. I feel you on the ‘not quite defined’ lip edge, although mine is more due to a *lack* of pigmentation than otherwise, LOL!

        Like

  13. 1) Previously I was a ninja with those foam Q-tip thingies. Then I bought a proper brush… MAC 219. Sorry. Also, it’s $69 here. Which is ridiculous but it is rather good. Still, for $69 I’d want to see more than a flimsy plastic sheath in the way of packaging. My Mecca Cosmetica one came in a box, AND cost less! Hmph.

    2) Normal Ooly only does a swipe & uses the smooth method to distribute. But Normal Ooly does not wear bold colours.
    Performance Ooly uses the whole lot for contouring purposes. War paint, you know.

    That paladin is orally fixated.

    3) However many it takes to order someone else to do it, I imagine.

    Like

    • 1) MAC!?! *hiss* We can no longer be freinds. πŸ˜› Just kidding – I would love to get a 219 and a 217 (and probably others), but the price makes mah face twitch. Which one did you get from MECCA? Is it their own brand?

      2) LOL, ‘Performance Ooly’. I think we’d all like to see that look, personally. πŸ˜€

      He totally is. But, you know, paladins.

      3) Indeed. You give thse guys a glowing mace and all of a sudden they’re just too good for household maintenance…

      Like

  14. 1) I haven’t that level of skill about the eyes yet πŸ™‚

    2) to the lipline πŸ™‚ If it’s something bold I’ll use a lip brush for precision, and if I’m worried it’ll move (like some of those lovely, bright colours do :/ ) I’ve recently started using a lip primer (the one from Bite)

    3) it depends on who they’re a cleric of! I expect evil clerics enjoy the dark for dark deeds, clerics of entropy probably have someone on constant standby, and clerics of fire, light, or electricity probably just give it a serious look….other than that I’ll say 12: 6 to do a divination to see if this is an auspicious time, 4 to perform the appropriate chants, one to cast levitation on the changer, and one to actually change it πŸ™‚

    Like

    • 1) Heh, I’m asking because it’s a skill I’m trying to develop, and I feel like it *must* be easier with a brush than with the side of my little finger (current tool)…

      2) Oooh… I totally need to try Bite stuff. It is on my (tragically enormous) list of brands to get to!

      3)ROFL! This answer = much win. πŸ˜€

      Like

  15. It seems like every adventurer has a favourite brush weapon. As a rogue who mostly used her fingers, I have a specific request: what do you think is the best brush out there for smooshing, smudging and tactically schmearing things along the lash line? There’s one caveat – it can’t be MAC! (their stuff is impossibly expensive here – hello ~$80 217! -, and you can’t buy online).

    For smudgy, smeary goodness, I use a smudge eye sponge by E.L.F. It’s like a tiny rounded pen tip. Works really well on kohl liners, and if you work fast enough, gel liners too.

    Do you fill in your lips all the way to the lipline with lipstick? Or do you leave a little space at the edges? Or do you put in a little extra to correct the line? The paladin wants to know!

    It depends on the look. Most of the time I don’t even use lip liner, but I do when I either a) am wearing very red or very dark lipstick and fill all the way to the lipline or b) doing that cute beesting pout that was popular in the 1920s where only the center of the lips are colored.

    How many clerics does it take to change a lightbulb?

    Depends on whether we have to turn or rebuke.

    Like

    • Your last answer = awesome πŸ˜€

      You know, I’ve never tried the whole beesting pout thing. I feel like I need to rectify that. I shall add it directly to the list of historical things that I need to try! (I’m not kidding, there’s an actual list).

      Like

Leave a Reply

