The Search for The Holy (Foundation) Grail Part 2: YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Compact in BR20

Greetings from the mountains of mystery, fellow rogues!

Welcome back for Part 2 of my Foundation Holy Grail Quest! If you missed Part 1, you can find it here. It also contains some details about the kind of foundation I prefer, and my skintone/colour match, if you need a bit of context for my foundation-related ramblings.

Today we’ll be leaping from the Precipice of BB Cream into the Pit of Powder Foundation, with a discussion of YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Compact, in Beige Rose 20 (BR20). I should point out here that I can’t find this powder foundation compact on the YSL Beauty US website – only the liquid foundation version. The other review I did find was on a lovely Singaporean blog, which informed me that this an (Austral)Asia exclusive product (and supposedly specially formulated for wear in humid climates!)

Anyway, Behold, the centre of this rogue’s Holy Foundation Grail Trinity:

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Compact BR20 Review, Swatch

The compact, in its little velvet surcoat. Like all velvet surcoats, it collects dust and bloodstains something terrible. Even a flesh wound is enough to show up…

Alright, fair enough, the packaging hidden in its Black Knight garb isn’t very exciting. If we strip it down a little bit…

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Compact BR20 Review, Swatch

The typical YSL shiny gold packaging. I’m kind of in two minds about it – as a rogue, I do love me some gold. As a classy rogue, I tend to prefer the sleek black of Chanel’s compacts…
This image comes complete with curtains – you should have seen the gymnastics I did for it not to include the camera…!

Hm…still not enough? I see, you want to carve right into this thing and get to the soft pink interior! Just a flesh wound, my foot!

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Compact BR20 Review, Swatch

The product itself! The space currently occupied by the recently risen dead is where the sponge goes. It was wash day for mine, so you don’t get to see it.

Right! And here we are at the foundation-y goodness. As you can see, the product looks pretty arrestingly pink in this photo, and it is indeed an unashamedly pink undertoned product. Perhaps, even, a little too pink for me to wear it as a solid foundation on its own. As we know however, I am one of those people who is allergic (both figuratively and literally) to any kind of coverage at all, even medium. I like everything weightless and totally natural, even if a couple pimples show through a tiny bit.

Having said that, you can easily build up this feather-light, silky soft foundation up to medium coverage or greater, especially if you use the totally functional sponge that comes with the compact.  I vary between using the sponge very lightly, and using a fluffy brush, depending on whether I’ve put any BB creme on first. The heaviest coverage I do (for evening talks or something where I’m going to be on the stage) is a sheer layer of the YSL BB Creme from Part 1 of this series and then a dusting of this powder on top. It’s what I wore for my wedding, too!

The packaging is pretty functional, but I like the generous mirror. It doesn’t have a lot of weight to it, but it is sturdy.

Here is a nice picture of the back of the product, because I feel like a photo is necessary at this junction:

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Compact BR20 Review, Swatch

Back of packaging…not terribly exciting, I’ll grant you, but then neither is a shrubbery, to most people.

More reasons why this foundation is part of my HG Trinity, and a product you’ll have to slice off all my limbs to separate me from:

  • It has a very soft, pleasant foundation scent.
  • It contains SPF 35 PA +++, which isn’t too shabby at all.
  • It doesn’t irritate, block or otherwise interfere with my skin (which is dry and prone to eczema).
  • It wears up to ten hours, including two hours of intense ballet, without needing a touch up. It probably wears longer, but I never have makeup on for that long! (Obviously, I can’t speak for anyone with a very oily skin, as I have the reverse, which I’m sure helps it stay put)
  • It imparts the most beautiful, luminous, airbrushed velvet look to my skin, without obscuring the natural texture of my skin or making me look cakey, OR highlighting dry patches.
  • The compact and the pan of foundation are sold separately, meaning you don’t have to pay extra for the packaging if you’re happy to put it in a Z palette or something, or that you can just buy the cheaper refill for subsequent purchases.
  • I have quite oily eyelids (randomly). If I dust a layer of this over my eyelids as a base/primer, then my powder eyeshadows blend easier and stay creaseless through the same 10 hour/ballet workout as the foundation itself!

But what you want to see is the foundation in action, right? Well, have at you!

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Compact BR20 Review, Swatch

Before and afters. Note how heartbreakingly flawless this stuff makes me look, even though you can still see my skin underneath. A gorgeous luminous matte-but-not-dry finish. I have used no undereye concealer either, although there is half of an eyeshadow look in progress. Ni!

Honestly, I can’t recommend this stuff enough.  Just LOOK at that finish! I could even build further if I wanted. The before photo is even slightly blurry, and the after photo was even taken in harsher, more direct daylight, technically, since I opened the window between photos. And it still looks perfect. *sigh* ❤

A note on shade range: one downside of this particular line of powder foundation is that it only really comes in pink/white/yellow shades. This is probaby further evidence that it’s still an (Austral)Asia exclusive (which is odd, since we have all sorts of colours of people here too), but disappointing for the darker skinned. The liquid version of this foundation seems to do slightly better in this respect, however, so that might be something to pursue if you’re less vampiric than I am!

A note on cost/benefit: This is an expensive foundation. However, as mentioned, I have a foundation holy trinity. Sometimes I use all three products, sometimes only one. As a result, I have had this pan for almost a year and as you can see I haven’t made too much of a dent in it. Additionally, if, like me, you like sheer coverage, you’re going to get even more mileage. Also, when you live in the land of >$40 Revlon Colorstay, nothing seems bad, really ;-). At the end of the day, I am so finicky about my foundation requirements, and so sparing with it, that I am happy to save up and invest a bit to get a perfect product. Your mileage (pricewise) may vary, but if my Holy Grail sounds great to you too, I’d urge you to consider going and at least getting a YSL MUA to put some on you and see how it goes.

The verdict: A perfectly toned, flawlessly velvety, buildable, lasting, wightless, nice-smelling powder foundation. Fullstop. Holy Grail. I also use a couple of other HG foundation-related products from YSL, so check out Part 1, and check back in a couple of days for the final piece of this quest!

The practicalities: YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Compact costs NZD ~30.00 for the compact packaging and ~NZD 65.00 for the pan of foundation, which is 9g / 0.32 oz, and may be found at YSL counters in department stores in New Zealand and Singapore (that I know of). www.yslbeautyus.com (or your region’s equivalent if applicable) seems to stock the liquid foundation version, which I can’t personally speak to but seems to be quite popular too!

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided! All images on this blog are the property of The Painted Rogue unless otherwise stated. These images may not be reproduced without permission, unless you want a fleet of gelatinous cubes after you.

26 thoughts on “The Search for The Holy (Foundation) Grail Part 2: YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Compact in BR20

  1. 10 hours wear? Woah woah woah! Now I have oily skin of course, so it would probably last a little less long on me, but still, this sure sounds good. I always use liquid foundation though, never powder, so I’d have to get used to using a compact.

    Like

    • I’m a bit of a fan of pressed powder foundations, to be honest. This one isn’t the first one I’ve tried, and I like how they double as a very sophisticated finishing powder if you use a fluffy brush and a light hand! I was kind of surprised by how long it wears too, but they did formulate it to hold up in hot humid climates, so…! 😀

      Like

  2. Hey Syl, hahaha that missing sponge and risen dead thing totally cracked me up! I’m sensing a theme in your HG foundation trinity. It’s strange, but I really haven’t experimented all that much in terms of foundation. I got hooked on Guerlain at a certain point, and I’ve kept it that way. It’s probably just easy because I already know which shade I am :p

    Like

    • Hehe, glad you liked it! I haven’t had as many minis in my pics recently, because we’ve got some new ones in painting progress, and I want to show those! But I love those little skeletons so much!

      Honestly, I haven’t tried hundreds of foundations myself. I have swatched what feels like zillions! but then I just found this combo from YSL and fell in love! Although I’m definitely keen to try samples of other things if I can get them (looking at you, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua), I’m happy to stick with what I know works so well!

      Like

  3. I have seen many beauty bloggers discuss the virtues of this particular product (nobody ever mentions the ability to conjure up the dead). What I will say is, the results are more prominent on this one than HG #1. It’s provides more coverage for sure.

    Like

    • Indeed it is. Sometimes, because it’s a powder compact, I forget that it’s a legitimate foundation! I apply it so sheerly 😛 the living dead can hamper application sometimes, but usually they’re too busy arguing amongst themselves…

      Like

  4. Bummer about the color range. I hate how racist the makeup industry is 😦

    On a different note, I hope you know that it delights me greatly to read a sentence like, “The space currently occupied by the recently risen dead is where the sponge goes.” I’m so glad you decided to start blogging, Syl.

    Like

    • Aww, thanks! 😀

      I appreciate the desire of big name, international makeup companies to make ‘tailored’ ranges, and when it comes to foundation that necessarily means skin-colour based. If they could perhaps push themselves to make a range especially for darker skinned customers, though? There’s so much nuance that often gets missed out on there – you’ll have 15 shades of medium to light, and then maybe one or two noticeably darker or lighter shades, if that. Some companies are better than others (NARS seems to have quite a range?), but it’s a lame trend.

      Like

  5. The risen dead – LOL!

    I’m in awe looking at the Before and After photo! The coverage is excellent and you are right, it doesn’t look cakey at all! Was that just after one layer on? I’m truly impressed!

    It seems much more convenient, too, compared to the liquid foundation and it’s also nice to see that it hasn’t dried out even after more than a year. 🙂

    Like

    • Heck, even I keep going back and looking at that before and after photo…and the elevators at work have mirrored walls in them, so I’m always sneaking a peek there as well! This stuff is just so lovely – it was indeed just one layer.

      I thasn’t dried out or changed (that I can tell) at all! It is tricky keeping the skeletons out of your makeup compacts – as soon as you take the sponge out, BAM, there they are.

      Like

  6. I just wanted to say, I’m a huge nerd (both make-up and otherwise!) and I am madly in love with your blog! It’s great! I’m also creeping around links on your page and the mini’s are awesome!!

    Like

    • It depends on how well-rested I am and how many thesis chapters are due the next day, but this foundation does a really amazing job just by itself. I promise there’s no concealer there – you should pop over to YSL and try it out for yourself!

      Like

  7. Pingback: The Search for The Holy (Foundation) Grail Part 3: YSL Touche Éclat Iluminating Pen in #1 Luminous Radiance | The Painted Rogue

  8. Pingback: Loot (and Quest) Alert! Dior Fluid Stick Swatches and NARS Siberia Foundation Test | The Painted Rogue

  9. Pingback: Beauty and the Geek Go Retro…and Minsc Says Go for the Eyes, Boo! | The Painted Rogue

  10. Pingback: What’s in The Rogue’s August Wishlist Chest? Lipsticks, Blushes and Eyeliners! | The Painted Rogue

  11. Pingback: Beauty and the Geek Go To Wonderland…with Alice and the Cheshire Cat | The Painted Rogue

  12. Pingback: RogueGyver?! WWARD?! The (Ridiculous) Beauty Scenario Tag | The Painted Rogue

Leave a Reply

