Back to Basics III: A Classic Red Nail Polish for Every Rogue – Butter London Come to Bed Red

Greetings from the starting point of every good adventure, my fellow rogues!

Yes, we’re back in the saddle for another adventure into the classics and staples of every rogue’s kitbag – this time, however, we’re veering away from the rolling hills of lipsticks and forging a path across the flat plains of nails. Don’t think too hard about that metaphor, I certainly didn’t!

I find, in general, that red nail polish is a little more divisive than red lipstick. Red lipstick is pretty much always glamorous, but I’ve been told many times (admittedly, usually by people from a different, much older generation) that red nail polish makes you look ‘fast’ (??I’m a rogue – I have to move quickly to dodge my enemies, don’t I?). Well, regardless of what that would-be sage in the corner of the tavern tells you, I think red nail polish is a fantastic, fun pick-me-up, and I’m here to tell you about my favourite: Butter London Come to Bed Red.

IMGButter London Come to Bed Red review swatch

Butter London Come to Bed Red – love the name, love the classic insides-of-your-enemy colour! It’s a little deeper and more blue-based in real life, actually.

(Given the comments about being ‘fast’, the name of this polish makes me smile every time I see it. Names like this are so much nicer than naming red makeup ‘Lolita’, I find – you still get to suggest sex, but you don’t have the Nabokov-y implications!)

Butter London is a favourite brand of mine, but I find their formulae to be rather variable. Their glitters are amazing in colour, but tend to run rather on the gloopy side for me. This rich red creme, on the other hand, basically applies itself. If you remember to give it a good shake before application, it’ll cover in one coat, too! I usually do two just to be on the safe side, but it’s hard to overstate how easily this applies – no pooling, no streaking, no goopiness. Just gorgeous blood red goodness.

IMGButter London Come to Bed Red review swatch

Shown on the nails of a rogue, with a ring finger accent courtesy of Etude House Play Nail Polish in #147. Pardon the raggedy cuticles – I punched a gelatinous cube sort of by accident, and the cuticles are the first things to dissolve…

 

What you see in the picture above is two coats of Come to Bed Red, without topcoatΒ (except for my Etude House #147 accent nail – the one that I COULDN’T RESIST over such a bright, pretty polish). That’s right, all the glossy shine you see is part of the red polish itself. I usually add a coat of my favourite Sally Hansen topcoat anyway, just for longevity, but I wanted you to see the polish in its full, unadulterated glory first.

IMGButter London Come to Bed Red review swatch

Cuddly sweater shot, this time in direct morning sunlight! It is a well-documented fact that cuddly sweaters are 20 xΒ  more effective when they also have tiny sparkles in them.

 

This polish lasts for about two to three days on me, before it chips off from the tips. It’s worth nothing that not only is this an excellent wear time for me, but that when my polish comes off, it’s usually the whole sheet in one – chipping is definitely an improvement! This polish will see you all the way through 3-4 medium-sized dungeons (depending on inter-dungeon travel time and number of gelatinous cubes inadvertently punched), and brighten your day the whole time.

 

IMGButter London Come to Bed Red review swatch

Shadowed shot, for colour comparison. This is perhaps a little closer to how it appears to the naked eye.

 

The clean, classic red colour of this polish also lends itself to decoration and use in nail art – black-and-white-confetti polishes look great over it, as you can see, or you could use it as an alternative base for Ooly’s toadstool manicure! Its versatility, quality and excellent wear time make it an ideal candidate for the kitbag of every rogue, whether they want to add fun, glamour, or both.

 

The Verdict:Β  If you’re looking for a classic red nail polish that is sexy, beautiful, and cute all at the same time, Butter London’s Come to Bed Red has your back. The fact that it applies like a dream, has a shiny finish and wears well only serves to sweeten the deal! A perfect red for every rogue’s toolkit.

The Practicalities: Butter London Come to Bed Red costs NZ 30.00/ USD 15.00 / GBP 12.00, is permanent, and is available from department stores and www.butterlondon.co.uk or your local variant of that URL.

Until next time, my rogues, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided!

21 thoughts on “Back to Basics III: A Classic Red Nail Polish for Every Rogue – Butter London Come to Bed Red

    • Hehe thanks. You should have heard the things I have about red polish – and if it’s on the toenails, well. Then you might as well just walk around with no knickers on!

      *clutches pearls*

      Like

  1. Pingback: Operation Desert Rogue Part 1: What’s in My Travel Kitbag? and Desert Makeup Tips | The Painted Rogue

  2. Pingback: Interrogueation! Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award + A Fun Questionnaire for All! | The Painted Rogue

Leave a Reply

