How to make a Rogue Blush: Le Blush Crème de Chanel in #65 Affinité

Greetings (with an elegantly pretty flush in the cheeks) fellow rogues!

If you’re wondering why I look so girlishly healthy today (despite spending most of my time in places where the only light is phosphorescence), I’ll let you in on a little secret. I finally embraced the concept of blush.

I’ve never really been a blushy sort of person. I have a vampiric complexion, and I don’t turn pink naturally, unless you count the ‘all-over puce’ colour my face attains after extreme physical exertion (not a good look, but after four hours of ballet or a clearing out a troll den…). Unfortunately, this tends to lead people to ask if you’re OK a lot, because you look like you’re pale and ill, not pale and interesting. Fortunately, that house of sorcery, Chanel, has come to my rescue with its line of magical cream blushes.

Today, we’re going to look at #65, Affinité:

Chanel Cream blush in # 65 Affinite review

Khael the Venerable wasn’t sure what to make of this artifact…the chest was elegantly made, but the cloth seemed to have been designed to catch dust…

I should mention here that this post was inspired (prompted?) by Nikki’s recent Chanel cream blush post over here!

Affinité is a medium-bright (in the Chanel cream blush range, that is), slightly cool-toned pink with a silken cream-to powder texture. Seriously, you can smoosh it with your finger in the pan and feel the slip, but by the time it makes it yo your cheeks it’s like an effortlessly blendable…crowder? It’s absolutely weightless, and I’ve even blended it over face powder with no problems.

Chanel Cream blush in # 65 Affinite

Le Blush Crème de Chanel in #65 Affinité. Khael stared thoughtfully into the hibiscus-coloured pool, puffing on his pipe and pondering the artefact’s magical qualities.

The colour is very flattering, and gives me a wonderful ‘Yes, I’m actually healthy!’ look with absolute minimum effort. I ghost a fingertip just over the very surface of this blush, then repeat the same motion in the desired area of my cheek. Even only having ghosted my finger over the product  (kind of like the way you would brush your finger over your skin if you wanted to actually feel the tiny little hairs that are all over your face – odd comparison, but the best one I can think of), there is a bright, opaque spot of colour on my finger…but this translates to only as much as I want on my cheek. It’s hard to describe how foolproof this stuff is, really. I think even Hilarion the paladin would manage with it.

Chanel Cream blush in # 65 Affinite swatch

From left: swatched and blended to near invisibility (still looks good!), full-pigment swatch (one swipe, from gentle pass of finger over pan), and normal amount, blended. Interestingly, my skintone makes this look peachier in the middle swatch than it does in the pan or blended.

Wear time is ridiculous. On bare skin, over powder foundation and over bb cream, I’ve never seen this blush fade within normal wear times. When I take my makeup off at night (maybe 12 hours later), the cotton pad is BRIGHT PINK. It lasts through multiple hours of sweaty ballet. This blush has your back (cheeks?), seriously. Another important thing to note is that my cheeks are dry. Consequently, their texture is also sometimes a bit less than silky to start with, but this blush doesn’t cling to dry bits.  The finish is satin/semi matte on me, has absolutely zero shimmer or glitter, and doesn’t emphasise pores or battle-scars.

Chanel Cream blush in # 65 Affinite

Khael might have been watching the blush…but somewhere, from the Chanel dimension, something was watching Khael…

I know what some of you are thinking. ‘Syl, how can you possibly expect me to pay that much for one blush? Have you been sampling those iridescent cave mushrooms again?’. I know, Chanel is an expensive brand. But when you get this much quality in a product, combined with daily use (and I will scrape every last bit of this stuff out of that pan, you can be sure), I think it’s worth it to save up a bit for one. These cream blushes are a wonderful example of why sometimes, paying a bit more is actually *really* worth it. Of course, if you prefer sampling lots of different blushes, this might not apply. But even so, this blush is so amazing, so versatile, and so hard-working, I think it (or one of its friends)- deserves a place in every kitbag or collection.

Remember, there’s more recent Chanel cream blush eye candy over at Nikki’s blog!

The verdict: Le Blush Crème de Chanel in #65 Affinité is your new BFF (blush friend forever). It’s pigmented, endlessly blendable, lightweight, wears like iron, and the colour is neither to cool nor too warm. Even if this particular colour isn’t for you, these cream blushes from Chanel are well worthy of a look, and serve as a great reminder of those times when paying a bit more does actually net you distinctly superior quality. Highly Recommended!

The practicalities: Chanel’s cream blushes cost NZD ~65.oo / USD 38.00 each for 2.5 g/0.09 oz, are permanent (although limited edition shades do come out frequently), and may be acquired from Chanel counters and stores the world over, and www.chanel.com.

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided!

19 thoughts on “How to make a Rogue Blush: Le Blush Crème de Chanel in #65 Affinité

  1. Why do you make me lust for expensive treasure? $422.22 per ounce? ~heart seizes~ That would have to be one hulluva dungeon quest. But it’s sooooo pretty…

    In other news, thank you for introducing me to girl behind glasses!

    Like

    • Some brave souls have ventured there, most just returned without their wallet.

      I am hoping that by consistently wearing this blush, I will be able to commune with the dimension and learn it secrets.

      Like

  2. Such a pretty, pretty shade of pink! It sounds fantastically easy to use, also. I recently discovered that a lipstick I’ve always found super boring works perfectly as a blush for my skin tone =)

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Rogueish Wedding Guest Makeup Look! (and some suitably scenic pictures) | The Painted Rogue

  4. Pingback: The Peachy Keen Rogue, And Other Wordplay: Clinique Cheek Pop Blush in 02 Peach Pop | The Painted Rogue

  5. Pingback: What’s in The Rogue’s August Wishlist Chest? Lipsticks, Blushes and Eyeliners! | The Painted Rogue

Leave a Reply

