Like Epic Loot, A Perfect Purple Polish is Worth Working For

Greetings from the rooftops, my fellow rogues!

You know when you do something that takes a lot of effort, something very precise and delicate, and then it’s gone in the space of a day, but you do it and love it anyway because for that brief period, the result is breathtakingly gorgeous?

Yes. Well, that basically describes this rogue’s entire attitude to nail polish (also low level enchantments, but we’ll talk about that another time).

Today’s post showcases a perfect example of this situation: OPI’s In the Cable Car Pool Lane, a deep reddish purple.

 

One shiny bottle of grape-coloured enchantment. Also nail polish.

One shiny bottle of grape-coloured enchantment. Also nail polish.

 

As you may have realised by now, I have a penchant for all things purple (and jokes at the expense of the paladin – sorry Hilarion). OPI’s In the Cable Car Pool Lane, from the recent San Francisco collection, fits perfectly into this aesthetic. If you look closely, and can convince yourself that you’re not going insane, there’s even glitter hidden in it:

 

Hidden trasure! Yes, all those white specks are in fact very sparse pieces of glitter.

Hidden trasure! Yes, all those white specks are in fact very sparse pieces of glitter.

 

In case you’re wondering, no, the glitter doesn’t show up on the nail. I did actually wonder if some big batch of this got accidentally contaminated with a leak from the giant vats of magical glitter in the OPI factory, as some other reviews make no mention of it!

Anyway, to get back to my rather tortured point from the beginning of the post: this polish is glorious, but it doesn’t hang around long. In OPI’s defence, as I mentioned in my first polish post, basically *nothing* stays on my nails for very long. The wear time for this one clocked in at just under 24 hours for me, and that’s actually better than average.

 

Oooh...shiny. Purple polish and a potion of prescience. What more could you want?

Oooh…shiny. Purple polish and a potion of prescience. What more could you want?

 

Application time is actually quite long – this creme polish is on the thick side, but I find I need three thin coats to achieve opaque, even coverage. Dry time is long in this humid climate (up to 12 hours before you’ll stop getting sheet marks if you sleep on it), and if you don’t wait at least a coupe of hours before attempting topcoat, the colour will transfer instantly to your topcoat brush like orcs onto an unsuspecting adventurer. In other words, this is not the polish to slap on right before you’re due to go raid a harpy nest. I will stress, however, that if you are applying it in a different climate, your results may vary/improve significantly!

 

Clutching at a potion of prescience! As you can see, in different lights the colour can look quite dark. almost black.

Clutching at a potion of prescience! As you can see, in different lights the colour can look quite dark. almost black.

 

All whinging aside, however, this polish is gorgeous. It is totally worth the somewhat painstaking application. Even before I put the topcoat on (Sally Hansen Mega Shine), this polish was glossy. The colour is rich and changeable depending on the light, and it gives a glamorous edge without being too dark. Absolutely perfect for any rogue who wants to stand out in style.

The verdict: If you’ve got the stomach for a slightly tedious application, this is a beautiful, elegant polish for the discerning rogue! Sometimes, things are worth a little bit of extra effort, even for a fleeting joy :-).

The practicalities: OPI colour polishes (including this one) cost NZD ~26.00/USD ~8.00 each for 15 mL/0.5 fl. oz, depending on where you shop. Topcoats, treatments etc tend to be much more expensive, around NZD 40.00/USD 16.00. In the Cable Car Pool Lane is from a recent limited edition collection, but these typically hang around for several months (to years!) on the OPI shelves at your local pharmacy/Farmers, as well as various online distributors. They are also available in New Zealand (along with China Glaze, Zoya, Picture Polish and a number of other hard-to-get brands!) from www.candygirl.co.nz.

Until next time, fellow adventurers, don’t forget to check for traps!

Syl

I am an adventuring rogue, not a mercenary for hire, and as such, all opinions expressed here are my own, based on a genuine fondness for/interest in this product. If you have any queries or suggestions, please do not hesitate to pin your parchment to the board (contact me) at thepaintedrogue [at] gmail [dot] com., or use the contact form provided!

8 thoughts on “Like Epic Loot, A Perfect Purple Polish is Worth Working For

    • Thanks! :-D I hope you’ll check out my New Years’ Quiz if you want a few more nerdy laughs – plus you can find out which member of the beauty adventuring party you are! :-P

      Like

  1. I saw the tiny dot of glitter (spot check?!?) As enjoyable as a bottle of polish mishmash can be, sometimes I get really stumped when I’m looking at them. Is this a creme, a satin, a silk, a shimmer? – sometimes it’s not obvious when the bits are all mixed about.

    Lovely shade, worth the fuss.

    Like

    • I actually didn’t notice that there was technically glitter in the polish until I was taking the photos for the post! When I got it I assumed (like most people, I guess) that it was just a burgundy/purple creme :-P

      It’s kind of nice in a way – like a secret! If I stared really closely at my nails in the right light, I could catch a couple of specks of glitter on the nail, but if they intended it to look glittery…they kind of missed :-P

      Like

  2. I looove that color. Reading blogs this fall made me fall in love with deep reds and burgundies, and this is even deeper and richer. But only 24 hours? What are you doing with your nails?! Swinging a sword around at trolls and the like, I know. . .

    Like

    • I wish, haha! I can sit motionless in a darkened room for that time and my polish will still be chippedcoming off at the end of it.

      I almost don’t have to use polish remover – the entire nail’s worth of polish just sort of pops off in a single piece :-P

      Maybe it was that bottle of cursed basecoat I found in that dungeon that one time… ;-)

      Like

      • Ack, tell me about it! I think I’ve tried just about everything! The Sally Hansen basecoat I use is working alright for me at the moment – I might try another one when I’ve finished it….

        Like

Leave a Reply

